Skip to Main Content
For English, English as a Second Language, and Foreign Language Teachers
Context and Culture in Language Teaching and Learning by
This work addresses the significance of the relationship between the aims and methods of language teaching and the contexts in which it takes place. It considers the implications of this for the ways in which we research language teaching, and presents the results of research and development work.
Publication Date: 2003
An Intercultural Approach to English Language Teaching by
"This accessible book introduces teachers of EFL to intercultural language education by describing its history and giving a clear explanation of its main theoretical principles. Intercultural language education has redefined the modern languages agenda in Europe and North America. The book provides many illustrations of classroom tasks that equip language learners in the ethnographic skills required of cultural observers, and the interpretative skills necessary truly to understand the cultures of other people - and your own. There are chapters on conversation and writing skills, and the comprehension of a range of audiovisual materials, such as literature, television and visual images. There is guidance on project work, on how to conduct and analyse interviews for cultural exploration, and on the assessment of intercultural communicative competence."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Publication Date: 2003
Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning by
This reference work deals with all aspects of language teaching and learning and offers a comprehensive range of articles on the subject and its history. Themes covered include: methods and materials; assessment and testing; contexts and concepts; influential figures; related disciplines such as psychology, anthropology, sociolinguistics. The teaching of languages in particular countries is covered as are a wide range of specific languages, including Japanese, Chinese and Arabic, as well as English, French, German and Spanish.
Publication Date: 2001
Teaching Secondary English by
Instead of taking us yet again on a tour through the four modalities of English, this book's tri-partite structure takes a refreshingly different approach by offering thought-provoking argument grounded in classroom practicality' - "Nick McGuinn, University of York " This book enables English teachers to implement change and rise to new challenges, while remaining true to an ethically and socially just position which provides the rationale for their vocation. The author describes and evaluates recent changes to English teaching brought about by initiatives such as the Literacy Strategy, the new A' levels and the requirement to focus on spiritual, moral, social and cultural development.
Publication Date: 2004
Web English Teacher
Web English Teacher claims to offer the best of K-12 English/Language Arts online teaching resources. English teacher Carla Beard, who created this Web site, tells users to "think of it as the faculty library and faculty workroom on a global scale." Because it is so focused, this site offers comprehensiveness and depth of materials that most English teachers will find helpful. The site is mostly geared toward middle and high school levels; for example, links for the advanced placement and international baccalaureate courses include ambitious unit plans, lesson plan discussion questions, literary concepts, grading rubrics, and essay planning guides for the major works offered in the curricula. The Book Reports link offers numerous ideas for assigning book report projects to students at all levels. Additional links at this site include teaching ideas and quality online resources for works in the field of children's literature and young adult literature, both fiction and prose, organized by genre and then authors' names. Separate links are devoted to Shakespeare's works. Other resources from this site include drama, ESL/TESOL, grammar, poetry, folklore, mythology, speech, debate, journalism, poetry, and critical thinking. Web English Teacher is easy to navigate, and the links are well maintained. Materials found at this site are consistently well organized and offer quality as well as quantity. (Excerpted from review by S. A. Ariew, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in Choice, Special Issue 41 (2004).)
For Sciences and STEM Teachers
Learning Science Teaching by
Presents an analysis of the classroom practice of a group of science teachers to reveal the knowledge bases that they have acquired. This book includes insights provides by students into the kinds of science teaching that engages them. It argues that highly accomplished science teachers are also continually learning science teachers.
Publication Date: 2007
Multiple Perspectives on Mathematics Teaching and Learning by
"Multiple Perspectives on Mathematics Teaching and Learning" offers a collection of chapters that take a new look at mathematics education. Leading authors, such as Deborah Ball, Paul Cobb, Jim Greeno, Stephen Lerman, and Michael Apple, draw from a range of perspectives in their analyses of mathematics teaching and learning. They address such practical problems as: the design of teaching and research that acknowledges the social nature of learning, maximizing the impact of teacher education programs, increasing the learning opportunities of students working in groups, and ameliorating the impact of male domination in mixed classrooms. These practical insights are combined with important advances in theory. Several of the authors address the nature of learning and teaching, including the ways in which theories and practices of mathematics education recognize learning as simultaneously social and individual. The issues addressed include teaching practices, equity, language, assessment, group work and the broader political context of mathematics reform. The contributors variously employ sociological, anthropological, psychological, sociocultural, political, and mathematical perspectives to produce powerful analyses of mathematics teaching and learning.
Publication Date: 2000
Teaching Environmental Literacy: Across Campus and Across the Curriculum by
To prepare today's students to meet growing global environmental challenges, colleges and universities must make environmental literacy a core learning goal for all students, in all disciplines. But what should an environmentally literate citizen know? What teaching and learning strategies are most effective in helping students think critically about human-environment interactions and sustainability, and integrate what they have learned in diverse settings? Educators from the natural and social sciences and the humanities discuss the critical content, skills, and affective qualities essential to environmental literacy. This volume is an invaluable resource for developing integrated, campus-wide programs to prepare students to think critically about, and to work to create, a sustainable society.
Publication Date: 2010
San Francisco Exploratorium
Includes an online video and audio collection of the San Francisco Exploratorium: The Museum of Science, Art, and Human Perception. This site involves over 500 programs, many of which involve science.
Environmental Literacy Council's Resources for Educators
For more than a decade, the Environmental Literacy Council has been dedicated to helping teachers, students, policymakers, and the public find cross-disciplinary resources on the environment. An independent, 501(c)3 organization, the Council offers free background information on common environmental science concepts; vetted resources to broaden understanding; and curricular materials that don't tell teachers how to teach, but give them the tools to augment their own backgrounds - no matter what their current knowledge.
For Social Studies and Social Sciences Teachers
Uncovering Our History: Teaching with Primary Sources by
Experience shows that immersion in the stories of our nation using primary documents illuminates the past and builds genuine interest in a way that textbooks cannot. Veccia and her contributors help classroom teachers and librarians grasp the tools and methods to use this refreshing and effective approach to teaching history.
Publication Date: 2004
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095