Earlham Libraries Home: Graduate Programs in Education: A Guide for Library Research: Articles

Following Citation Trails

Google Scholar
Add Earlham College under "Library Links" (within Settings) to access content within library database subscriptions. Google Scholar can also be used for citation searching - look for the "Cited By" link beneath the description of the article/item.

Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and magazines in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage ends at 2000.
Full text of 425 journals and magazines covering all topics dating back to the 1800s. Coverage ends at 2000.

American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographies of noteworthy Americans.
Online version of the multi-volume set that provides scholarly biographies of important people in all walks of American life.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Brief biographical information about a number of well-known people.
Offers the in-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series, the thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Full text biographies on notable people.
This database offers a collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies. Including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).

ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
Starting point for education research, from preschool to college. Journal articles, books, curriculum guides, and more. 1966-present.
Indexes and abstracts articles, books, theses, conference proceedings, and unpublished papers in education, 1966 to present.

Review of Research in Education. v. 1. 1973- 2012.
This important review of research developments in education can be accessed by clicking the title link above.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Yearly summaries of current research in the field for natural and social sciences.
Full text of annual summaries of scholarship in over three dozen academic disciplines up through 2023.
PsycINFO (remember to add APA PsycArticles) This link opens in a new window
Index for journal articles about psychology.
Indexes and abstracts the international literature of psychology, 1887 to present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area. A great starting point for any topic.
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s. Current 3-5 years usually unavailable.
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Journal articles for teachers, administrators, librarians, and other professional educators.
Designed for professional educators -- both teachers and administrators -- a collection of over 500 full text journals, with coverage as far back as 1965. Indexes and abstracts an additional 800 education-related journals.