Earlham holds several manuscript collections that are useful for the history of the war, peace, and conscientious objectors in the Midwest. They include:
FMS 1: Charles F. and Rhoda M. Coffin Collection, 1831-1919
Series VI includes a folder titled, "Civil War and Conscription".
Series XIV includes a folder titled, " Loose Pamphlets : Slavery and Quaker Attitudes toward it, War and Pacifism, Care of the Insane".
FMS 6: Homer and Edna Morris Collection, 1911-1951
This collection reflects Homer Morris’s career as an academic economist and longtime member of the Earlham College board, and especially the Morris’s work for the American Friends Service Committee. It contains class notes, correspondence, calendar book and publications as well as material pertaining to personal business, social justice issues, and the peace movement.
FMS 25: Francis W. Thomas Papers, 1860-1905
The Thomas Papers include diaries, correspondence, essays, and sermon drafts illustrating the concerns and tendencies of Indiana Friends in this period. The diaries span the years of the Civil War.
FMS 29: Barnabas C. Hobbs Papers, 1861-1904
The Hobbs Papers consist of correspondence and documents mainly reflecting Hobbs' trip to Europe in 1877-1878. Hobbs was sent to Germany and Russia with a message of peace and a request that the Mennonites not be forced to serve in the military.
FMS 34: Leland K. and Kathaleen Johnson Carter Papers, 1700-1994
The Leland K. and Kathaleen Johnson Carter Collection consists of correspondence, diaries, photographs, and genealogical material documenting the lives of a number of Quaker families in North Carolina, Ohio, Indiana, and Kansas in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. The collection is especially valuable for Quaker settlement in Indiana, the Conservative Separation of the 1870s among Orthodox Friends, and the work of the Friends Reconstruction unit in France during World War I. The photographs illustrate the change of Quaker dress over the course of the nineteenth century.
FMS 38: Ernest E. Mills Papers, 1841-1986
The Mills Papers include material on genealogy, his efforts to obtain conscientious objector status during World War II, and his parents' peace work in Indiana Yearly Meeting.
FMS 51: Carpenter-Wright Family Papers, 1834-1910
The Carpenter-Wright Family Papers consist mainly of family correspondence between Walter and Susan Carpenter and Henry and Caroline Wright, with comments on Quaker affairs, life in Richmond, events relating to the response of Midwestern Quakers to the Civil War, and a reminiscence by Walter T. Carpenter of his travels in the South in 1863.]
FMS 52: Jay Beede Collection, 1942-1952
This collection consists of papers relating to Jay Beede's status as a conscientious objector in 1942 and 1950, miscellaneous clippings and articles, and a scrapbook documenting his trip to Oxford England in 1952 whern he attended the World Conference of Friends.
FMS 68: Virgil H. Kruel Collection, 1940-1947
The collection consists of materials collected by Virgil H. Kruel (1918-2003) concerning pacifism during World War II. The collection contains primarily pacifist literature and a few items of war propaganda. The correspondence includes information on Kruel's efforts to obtain conscientious objector status. It also includes a letter from someone named Chuck written from a Federal Correction Institute in Ashland KY regarding his experience in prison.
The Alice Shaffer papers document the life and work of a Quaker social worker and humanitarian who was one of Earlham College's most distinguished alumni. They include correspondence, notebooks, photographs, and reports from her work in the United States, Europe and Latin America. She was a key figure in Quaker relief work in Berlin before and after World War II.
FMS 105: Gordon R. Coffin Collection, 1942-1946
Gordon Reid Coffin, a native of Minneapolis, Minnesota, is a life-long Quaker. This collection documents his experience, from 1942 to 1946, as a participant in Civilian Public Service (CPS), the alternative service program for conscientious objectors during World War II.
FMS 140: Mildred White Papers, 1824-1995
Mildred White was a Quaker teacher and missionary. Her papers illustrate the history of the Quaker schools at Ramallah, Palestine, life at Earlham College, and the history of Friends in Indiana. It includes not only family correspondence and photographs, but some genealogical material the Mildred White gathered and research material from Lois Jordan's biography of aunt, Ramallah Teacher, published in 1995.
FMS 155: Stanton Family Papers, 1848-1960
The Stanton Papers reflect the lives of a Quaker family in Indiana and Ohio in the second half of the nineteenth century. Most of the collection consists of correspondence, the majority addressed to Emily (Hadley) Stanton from family members and Earlham classmates. Of particular interest are letters from Emily's non-Quaker suitor, Jesse B. Connolly. He and a cousin of Emily's, John H. Lindley, served in the Union army during the Civil War and their letters include observations on the war and the South.
FMS 161: Deborah (Misty) Gerner Papers, 1980-2004
The collection consists primarily of research materials on the Arab-Israeli conflict and Palestine human rights issues. Some of the material is from the Palestinian Human Rights Campaign and the Quaker Working Party. These materials reflect Gerner’s interest in human rights and her participation in a number of human rights initiatives in the Middle East. There are a number of materials from B’Tselem, the Israeli Information Center for Human Rights in the Occupied Territories.
FMS 186: Gordon Graves Collection, 1900-1960
The Gordon Graves collection is composed primarily of anti-war materials collected by Graves throughout his life. These materials include organization newsletters, pamphlets, photocopies of newspaper clippings, brochures, and more, with the earliest dating to 1900 and the latest to the 1950s.
Series I, "Organizations" is comprised of informational materials and other publications. These materials are grouped alphabetically and mainly by the organizations which published them-- including the Central Committee for Conscientious Objectors. The rest, for which provenance is unclear, are grouped by topic-- such as anti-war, socialism, or universal military training.
FMS 187: Richard Eastman Papers, 1940-2008
The Richard Eastman Papers are comprised of Richard Eastman’s personal and professional papers. Topics include Religious Society of Friends, Friends General Conference, and the American Young Friends Conference (1940s-1950s). There are also professional papers (minutes, memorandums, financial budgets, reports, media) that profile different committees of the American Friends Service Committee (1960s and 1970s).