Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image
ESR & Bethany Resources
Science & Technology Commons
Friends Collection & College Archives
Facilities & Services
Hours
Library Home

War, Peace, and Conscientious Objectors: Friends Record Groups

Introduction

FRG, or Friends Record Group, contains collections of Quaker organizations. Examples of Quaker organizations include Friends United Meeting, Board of Young Friends Activities, and the American Friends Service Committee. A member of the Archives' staff will be happy to assist you if you wish to study one or more of these collections.

Friends Record Group

FRG 2: Young Friends of North America, 1910-1994

This collection contains a handful of folders regarding peace.

 

FRG 37: Friends United Meeting (FUM)

The collection consists of Friends United Meeting Records, including meeting minutes, correspondence, and official records.

Series I, "General Secretary Files" includes a Handbook for Conscientious Objectors, 1952. It also includes many folders regarding correspondence between peace committees.

Series IV, "Board on Christian Social Concerns" contains a folder titled FUM Vietnam War and Conscientious Objectors and Peace.

 

FRG 45: American Friends Service Committee

The American Friends Service Association collection includes correspondence, meeting minutes, reports of AFSC intervention overseas, various AFSC pamphlets and booklets, and other publications. Dates range from mid-1920s to the late 1970s.

It includes one folder titled, "AFSC Peace Section".

Series VI, "Young Friends" contains folders about peace, social action, and war.

Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095