SC, or Small Collections, are collections that are usually only one item to one folder in size. Small collections include diaries, letters, commonplace books, account books, notebooks, and autograph books. A member of the Archives' staff will be happy to assist you if you wish to study one or more of these collections.
SC 3: Ray Stewart Collection, 1957-1988
Letters and clippings written or collected by Ray E. Stewart (1917- ), of Dublin and Indianapolis, Ind., an active member of Indiana Yearly Meeting. Subjects include doctrinal conflicts in the Society of Friends, Indiana Yearly Meeting, politics, and the Vietnam War.
SC 14: Beth Goff Collection, 1991
Member of South Marion, Ind. Friends Meeting and a member of the Indiana Yearly Meeting Peace and Christian Social Concerns Committee active in the debate over Indiana Yearly Meeting's affiliation with the American Friends Service Committee. Consists of her letters and memoranda on the AFSC.
SC 29: Alonzo L. Wheeler Reminiscences
"Some Incidents in the Course of My Life More Especially Occurances [sic] of Civil War Days." Typescript, ca.1935. Experiences of a Quaker, Unionist family in Guilford County, North Carolina.
SC 30: Sylvester Jones Diary, 1941
"Diary of a Quaker Hostage during World War II," by Burritt Mills Hiatt, edited by Dorothy Lang Hiatt, a Friend of Wilmington, Ohio, while interned in Germany.
SC 77: Earl A. Thomas Collection
Earl A. Thomas (1900-1927) was a Richmond, Ind. resident and onetime member of First Friends Meeting there who served as a US Naval Aviator during the US intervention in Nicaragua in 1927. He apparently was killed by Sandino forces. The collection consists of four letters by Earl Thomas to his mother Gertrude Thomas of Richmond, June 11-September 20, 1927, with newspaper clippings and correspondence relating to his death.
SC 112: David Marshall Collection
David Marshall (1821-1890) was a prominent Friend of Carthage, Rush County, Ind. The collection consists of a draft of a letter from Marshall to Oliver P. Morton, governor of Indiana, 8th Mo. 13, 1862, concerning conscientious objection by Quaker men. Also included is a copy of the letter received by Morton, now in the Indiana State Archives, and correspondence between Ruth Hoskins and Opal Thornburg, Earlham archivist, concerning the letter in 1972.
SC 134: Myron Strattan Collection
Myron Strattan (1895-1986) was a minister and leading member of Indiana Yearly Meeting of Friends, residing in Knightstown, Ind. The collection consists of autobiographical and reminiscent writings, mostly relating to the peace testimony of Friends.
Eli Kelly (1839-1899) was a Friend of West Milton, Miami County, Ohio. The collection consists of a typescript of a reminiscence of Kelly's service with the 8th Ohio Cavalry in Virginia during the Civil War in 1864 and 1865.
SC 145: John H. Mills Collection
John H. Mills (1843-1923) was a Quaker farmer who spent his life in the vicinity of Mooresville, Ind. The collection consists of his discharge certificate from the 121st Indiana Infantry, 1865.
SC 155: Arend Vlaskamap Collection
Arend Vlaskamp (1895-1974) was an accountant and Quaker of Muncie, Ind. who attended Earlham College, 1914-1917. The collection consists of material relating to his work in France as a conscientious objector with the Friends Reconstruction Unit, 1917-1919.
SC 165: Alexander S. Starbuck Letters
Alexander Selkirk Starbuck (1847-1865) was a native of Randolph County, Ind., who served in the 121st Indiana Regiment, Ninth Cavalry, during the Civil War. The collection consists of five letters written from Mississippi from January to June 1865, including descriptions of army life and responses to the assassination of Abraham Lincoln.
SC 192: Mayberry M. Lacey Collection
Mayberry M. Lacey (1835-1922) was a merchant of Fountain City, Ind. The collection consists of an autobiographical letter, written in 1903, with accounts of the Lacey genealogy and Lacey's experiences as a Union soldier in the Civil War.
SC 193: Charles Donald Winslow Letters
Charles Donald Winslow (1898- ), was a native of Carthage, Ind., attended Earlham College 1916-1917. He then became part of the Friends Reconstruction Unit working in France under the American Friends Service Committee. The letters describe his experiences there.
SC 202: Adrian A. Parsons Collection
Adrian A. Parsons (1864-1929), a native of Guilford County, North Carolina, spent most of his life in Hendricks County, Indiana. Parsons served in the Union army during the Civil War, and was a student in Earlham College in 1867-1868. He was well-known as an advocate of scientific farming and published widely in agricultural journals. The collection consists of biographical material and copies of his writings and military records.
SC 211: John H. Sweitzer Papers
John H. Sweitzer (1917-1992) was Manager of Plant and Purchases at Earlham College 1952-1983 and an active Quaker. This small collection consists of material relating to his work as a conscientious objector in Civilian Public Service during World War II and material relating to the controversy over the AFSC World Affairs Institute at Camp Clements in Richmond, Indiana, in 1960.
SC 228: Non-Registrant Fund Papers. 1949-1950
The Non-Registrant Fund helped defray the legal expenses of draft resisters in the Southern District of Indiana in 1949 and 1950. The papers include correspondence with attorneys and donors and lists of contributors.
SC 278: Margaret Dorland Webb Collection, 1929
Margaret (Dorland) Webb (1882-1967) was a native of Ontario, Canada, and the wife of John R. Webb, the pastor of East Main Street Friends Meeting in Richmond, Ind., 1917-1919, and an official of the Five Years Meeting of Friends. The collection consists of the transcript of a hearing on Margaret Webb’s application for U.S. citizenship, rejected because of her adherence to the Quaker Peace Testimony.
SC 282: Cynthia Sampson Collection. 1990-2007
Cynthia Sampson is a scholar of international affairs and peacemaking. This small collection consists of correspondence and research materials on Quaker conciliation work during the Nigerian Civil War.
SC 337: Orange Grove-AFSC Collection, 1942-1950
The collection includes correspondence, minutes of the AFSC Pacific Coast branch, clippings, and published materials about work for Japenese Americans during World War II. The collection was apparently held by the Orange Grove Friends Meeting in Pasadena.
SC 345: David A. Hollingsworth Papers, 1915-1919
Hollingsworth's correspondence consists of letters from constituents voicing opinions on a variety of issues, including U.S. responses to World War I, immigration, the tariff, and patronage. Other letters concern constituent services, esepecially veterans' pensions, as Hollingsworth served on the House Invalid Pensions Committee. Several writers are Qakers from Belmont County, Ohio, which was part of Hollingsworth's district.
SC 346: Mark Balderston Letterbook, 1860-1877
Correspondents include David H. Bennett, Ann Branson, Amos Doan, Richard Fawcett, Edward Richie, and Edward H. Wood. Of special interest are letters detailing treatment of offenders against the Discipline, relating to the Civil War, and criticizing the unorthodox Practices of Western Yearly Meeting after Balderston attended its sessions in 1871. The correspondence reflects the attitudes and opinions of Friends with strong Wilburite tendencies.
SC 360: Richard E. Tirk Diary, 1941-1945
Diary and letters of Richard E. Tirk, a prisoner of war in the Philippines during World War II. It is an unusually detailed account of the privations of POW life, especially the hunger and fear of unpredictable Japanese authorities.
SC 363: David J. Scott Papers, 1863-1887
Israel Steer, Colerain, Ohio, to David J. Scott, 11th Mo 29, 1863, with comments on Ohio Quaker affairs and the Civil War
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095