Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image
ESR & Bethany Resources
Science & Technology Commons
Friends Collection & College Archives
Facilities & Services
Hours
Library Home

War, Peace, and Conscientious Objectors: Earlham College Archives

Introduction

The Earlham College Archives is the official repository for Earlham College and the Earlham School of Religion (ESR). Anything related to the College or ESR's history is housed here. We collect items of historical interest, including photographs, documents, and artifacts, as well as records from committees, student life, departments, and offices.

A member of the Archives' staff will be happy to assist you if you wish to study one or more of these collections.

Earlham College Archives

EC XXI: Controversial Issues Files

These files include controversial issues at Earlham College over the years. Content includes editorials, correspondence, emails, newspaper articles, reports, and other materials. Some material may be restricted. Check with the archivist.

It includes:

  • One box on conscientious objection from the 1940s.
  • One box on the Vietnam War and Earlham's reaction towards it.
  • One folder on the Iraq War.

EC VII.05: Earlham College Lilly Library

The collection consists of files from Lilly Library. Materials include reports, correspondence, and official records.

It includes one folder from 1994, titled "Draft and Conscientious Objector Materials".

EC V.07: Presidential Papers: Landrum R. Bolling

This collection includes a series titled "Philanthropic Interests".

It includes many folders regarding peace and nuclear war.

EC V.05: Presidential Papers: William Cullen Dennis

This collection includes folders regarding Friends' attitudes on peace and war as well as war and Earlham students, in boxes 5 and 7.

EC XXIV.27: Perry Kissick Papers

This collection includes many folders on the Peace & Service Committee of the Indiana Yearly Meeting.

Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095