Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of more than 370 periodicals and more than 220 books dating from the present to 1937. Includes a collection of over 63,000 images.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from pre-history to the present. Indexes over 1,700 journals dating back as far as 1910. Allows for searching by historical time period, a major advantage given the extensive range of its coverage.
- "Art & Architecture", "America History & Life", and "Academic Complete", are all EBSCO databases.
By using the "Select Databases" feature you can search all of them at once.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Books and Media
Earlham Libraries Catalog & Beyond This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.
Tips for research individual artists --
Search the catalog using the artists name as a subject. To get the correct subject, try a keyword search for the artist and then find a title with the correct subject.
Pollock, Jackson, 1912-1956.
New York Times (Historical Newspaper Archive) This link opens in a new window
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1851 up to the past three years and includes the New York Times Book Review and the New York Times Magazine.
US Midwest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Midwest Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Midwest Newsstream covers news sources from Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, and Wisconsin.
Special Books about Art
"All the works of an artist". A documented collection of every work of an artist's career. Each work is pictured, with scholarly opinions, provenance, bibliography. A great first place to begin research, but not all artists have catalogues raisonnés.
Krasner, Lee, -- 1908-1984 -- Catalogues raisonnés.
Like a catalogue raisonné, only for a single kind of object. Famous corpora are written for pottery, stain glass windows (Corpus Vitrirarum) and Florentine altarpieces (Offner).
The Image of the Black in Western Art
Permanent Holdings Catalogs (of museums)
Detailed catalogs of a period or genre of art in a particular museum. Like a catalogue raisonné, it will contain a collection of scholar's opinion on an object, conservation reports, provenance and literature (written about it). If you know of the location of a work of art, check for permanent holdings catalogs.
African American masters : highlights from the Smithsonian American Art Museum
Adapted from information created by Duke University Art Librarian Lee Sorenson.
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095