Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Contains the 34-volume reference set, The Grove Dictionary of Art, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and more.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
The Oxford Companion to Western Art by Over 2600 entries, alphabetically arranged. Almost half of them cover artists, from classical times to the twentieth century. Other entries discuss art styles and movements, art forms (such as battle painting, landscape, caricature, or stained glass), specialist terms, and materials and techniques in all media. There is strong emphasis on location as a focus for art: not only are there regional and cultural surveys, but also entries on specific places of importance such as Paris or Urbino; and, in addition, entries on museums and galleries are arranged under the their city so that the reader can easily survey the major sites within a particular locality, such as New York, Boston, or Madrid.
Publication Date: 2003
North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century by A reference source for biographical information on women artists from Canada, Mexico, and the USA. The 1,500 entries cover those artists that were born before 1960, and who have worked in a wide range of arts from painting and sculpture to performance art.
Publication Date: 1995
The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists by
Publication Date: 2007
Featuring 945 alphabetically arranged entries, here is an indispensable biographical and critical guide to American art from colonial times to contemporary postmodernism.
Twentieth Century United States Photographers by "Each of the 75 entries includes a summary essay that incorporates biographical and career highlights along with a context for the photographer's work in photographic history. A short bibliography and a list of collections in which the work may be found are also furnished. Small black-and-white photographs accompany the entries, and a center section with select color photographs is featured. A glossary and index are provided along with a thoughtful introductory essay that reflects on the evolution of photography into its current role in modern life. . . . This book serves as an excellent introduction for those seeking a framework for understanding the development of American photography and an appreciation for some of the major contributors." - ARBA
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Arab American Artists by The rich history and culture of the Arab American people is found in the passionate works of its artists. Whether they be traditional media such as painting and calligraphy, or more sophisticated media such as digital work and installation, the pieces represent the beauty of heritage, the struggles of growing up in war-torn countries, the identity conflicts of female artists in male-dominated societies, and the issues surrounding migration to a Western culture very different from one's own. Many of the artists included here, though their works appear in museums and galleries throughout the world, have never before been featured in a reference book. Interviews conducted by the author provide a personal look into the experiences and creative processes of these artists. Artists included: *Etel Adnan *Wasma Chorbachi *Nihad Dukhan *Kahlil Gibran *Sari Khoury *Emily Jacir *Sari Khoury *Mamoun Sakkal *Mary Tuma *Madiha Umar *Afaf Zurayk
Publication Date: 2007
St. James Guide to Hispanic Artists by This guide provides critical analysis of approximately 400 20th-century Hispanic artists from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, Central and South America, and American artists of Spanish descent. Detailed entries typically include biographical information; a list of individual exhibitions and a select list of group exhibitions; lists of museums and public galleries holding works by a given artist in their permanent collections; publications by and about the artist; a statement by the artist about his/her work (as available); and more.
Publication Date: 2002
Lives of Great 20th Century Artists by An authoritative look into the lives of 100 world-renowned artists. Chronologically divided into 24 chapters, the volume is illustrated with representative works and photos of the artists.
Publication Date: 1999
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095