Skip to Main Content
ESR & Bethany Resources
Friends Collection & College Archives
Facilities & Services
Finding Aids for Plays
Play Index This link opens in a new window
This unique resource covers classic and historical plays, along with the works of contemporary playwrights. Play Index covers new editions and translations, and includes descriptive annotations to summarize the plot and indicate musical requirements.
Search Publisher Collections
Play publisher of musicals, drama, theatre for young audiences, comedies, duet-scenes, monologues, one-acts, and other theatre resources.
Dramatist Play Service, Inc.
Publisher of thousands of plays in "acting editions," including full-length,, short, musicals, collections, and not-yet-published. To search their offerings, you can use the PlayFinder found on their homepage.
MTI: Musical Theatre International
MTI is another large purveyor of materials for musical theatre productions.
Playscripts publishes over 1000 new plays and its Web site may be searched according to different criteria and provides lengthy script samples for free.
Samuel French, Inc.
Publisher of thousands of plays in "acting edition" [same scope as Dramatists Play Service above]. A search engine is included on their homepage.
Tams-Witmark Music Library, Inc.
Tams licenses and offers scripts, musical scores, orchestrations, prompt books, and conductor scores for musical theatre productions.
Associate Library Director
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095