Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Oxford Dictionary of Plays by
Publication Date: 2005
Provides information on 1000 of the most important plays of world theatre. Each entry contains essential information including title, author, dates of composition and first performance, genre, composition of the cast, a synopsis of the plot, and a brief commentary.
The Cambridge Guide to Asian Theatre by A comprehensive and authoritative single-volume reference work on the theatre arts of Asia-Oceania. Nine expert scholars provide entries on performance in twenty countries from Pakistan in the west, through India and Southeast Asia to China, Japan and Korea in the east. An introductory pan-Asian essay explores basic themes - they include ritual, dance, puppetry, training, performance and masks. The national entries concentrate on the historical development of theatre in each country, followed by entries on the major theatre forms, and articles on playwrights, actors and directors. The entries are accompanied by rare photographs and helpful reading lists.
Publication Date: 1997
Encyclopedia of Asian Theatre by A detailed and authoritative survey of traditional and contemporary Asian theatre.
Includes hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries written by more than 90 expert contributors.
Publication Date: 2006
The Oxford Companion to American Theatre by Guide to the American stage from its beginnings to the present. The book covers not only classic works but also many commercially successful plays plus entries on foreign figures that have influenced our dramatic development (from Shakespeare to Beckett and Pinter).
Publication Date: 2004
The Cambridge Guide to American Theatre by This new and updated encyclopedic guide, with over 2700 cross-referenced entries, covers all aspects of the American theatre from its earliest history to the present. Entries include people, venues and companies scattered through the USA, plays and musicals, and theatrical phenomena. Additionally, there are some 100 topical entries covering theatre in major US cities and such disparate subjects as Asian American theatre, Chicano theatre, censorship, Filipino American theatre, one-person performances, performance art, and puppetry. Major popular forms are represented in entries such as circus, burlesque, vaudeville, and tent shows. Highly illustrated, the Guide is supplemented with a thorough historical survey as introduction, a bibliography of major sources published since the compilation of the first edition, and a unique and valued biographical index covering over 3200 individuals mentioned in the text. This new edition includes hundreds of new and updated entries, making it the most up-to-date guide to American theatre available.
Publication Date: 2007
Associate Library Director
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095