Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference: Comprehensive Guides
Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete texts of almost 300 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Wiley Blackwell Publishing in the Wiley Blackwell Reference Online collection. Also contains description-only citations of over 21,000 other online books, journals and articles.
A Dictionary of Buddhism by
Publication Date: 2003-07-10
"This dictionary features broad-ranging entries on the history and doctrines of the major Buddhist schools, information on the spread of Buddhism in Asia and the West, and coverage of issues of contemporary concern such as human rights, abortion, euthanasia, ‘engaged Buddhism’, and the role of women in Buddhist teachings."
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
Reference: Print Encyclopedias
Here is just a small sampling of what we have available in our print reference collection:
Encyclopedia of Religion by
Publication Date: 2004
Online version of the fifteen volume, 2nd edition (Macmillan, 2005). An outstanding scholarly work on almost any religious topic. We also have both the 1st and 2nd editions in print in our reference section.
Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion by
Publication Date: 1994
With more than four thousand entries and over one hundred illustrations, this encyclopedia offers a complete survey of the four major religious traditions of Asia. It is designed not only for students and scholars but also to help general readers find their way through the thicket of unfamiliar words and concepts that are often encountered today in various fields such as the health professions, psychotherapy, the sciences, and the media. Among the subjects covered are: • Important terms such aschakra,karma,koan,nirvana,tantra,Tao, andyin-yang • The lives and teachings of mystics, philosophers, and masters of meditation • Basic texts and scriptures • Sects and schools of thought • Mythological figures and events In addition, pronunciation tables, a comprehensive bibliography, and a Ch'an/Zen Lineage Chart are provided.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia by
Publication Date: 2002
Presents more than 2,600 entries covering such subjects as countries, cities, regions, natural features, religions, social issues, languages, people, events, customs, politics, and economics.
Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature by
Publication Date: 2005
A two-volume collation of material dealing with the rich interpenetration of religion and ecology.
Instructional Technologies Director & Seminaries Librarian
Subjects: ELL - English Language Learning
, Film Studies
, German & German Studies
, Human Development & Social Relations
, Jewish Studies
, Media and Communications
, Peace & Global Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095