Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Suggestions from Syllabus
An Introduction to Buddhist Ethics by
Publication Date: 2000
This systematic introduction to Buddhist ethics is aimed at anyone interested in Buddhism, including students, scholars and general readers. Peter Harvey is the author of the acclaimed Introduction to Buddhism (Cambridge, 1990). This book is written in a clear style, assuming no prior knowledge, and applies Buddhist ethics to a range of issues of contemporary concern: humanity's relationship with the rest of nature; economics; war and peace; euthanasia; abortion; the status of women; and homosexuality.
Journal of Buddhist Ethics
"The Journal of Buddhist Ethics is the first academic journal dedicated entirely to Buddhist ethics. We promote the study of Buddhist ethics through the publication of research and book reviews."
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
"A dynamic encyclopedia published as a project by Stanford University. In a dynamic encyclopedia, each entry is maintained and kept up to date on a routine, frequent basis by an expert or group of experts in the field."
Highlights from Library Session
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Indexes international periodicals, multi-author books, and reviews in religion. Includes fulltext of over 500 religion and theology journals, and links to religion content in Academic Search Premier.
Earlham Libraries Catalog & Beyond This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.
Add Earlham College under "Library Links" (within Settings) to access content within library database subscriptions. Google Scholar can also be used for citation searching - look for the "Cited By" link beneath the description of the article/item.
Encyclopedia of Religion by
Publication Date: 2004
Online version of the fifteen volume, 2nd edition (Macmillan, 2005). An outstanding scholarly work on almost any religious topic. We also have both the 1st and 2nd editions in print in our reference section.
Subjects: Ancient & Classical Studies
, Comparative Languages & Linguistics (CLL)
, ELL - English Language Learning
, Film Studies
, French & Francophone Studies
, German & German Studies
, Human Development & Social Relations
, International Studies
, Jewish Studies
, Media and Communications
, Peace & Global Studies
, Spanish & Hispanic Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095