Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Source Digital Collections
American Indian Film Gallery
The AIFG presently contains over 450 non-fiction films that document Native lifeways from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego, with a large concentration on peoples of the Southwest.
Anthropology Photo Archive - New Zealand and Pacific Islands
The Anthropology Photographic Archive database contains images from the anthropology collections of the University of Auckland, New Zealand. The images record staff research in New Zealand and the Pacific Islands in the field of archaeology and social anthropology from 1950 to date. At present approximately 50,000 images have been digitized and uploaded, ranging from social anthropology in Papua New Guinea and Tokelau, to archaeology in Western Samoa, Tonga, and New Zealand. The archive is a joint project between the University Library and the Department of Anthropology to preserve and ensure long-term access to items in this valuable and unique research archive.
Arabic and Middle Eastern Electronic Library
AMEEL is a Web-based portal and a digital collection of information for the study of the Middle East, including its history, culture, development, and contemporary face. Some materials are only available for Yale-associated users.
Collections of the Fowler Museum at UCLA
The Fowler's collections comprise more than 150,000 art and ethnographic and 600,000 archaeological objects representing ancient, traditional, and contemporary cultures of Africa, Native and Latin America, and Asia and the Pacific.
A project to develop digital collection, storage and distribution strategies for multimedia anthropological information from the Himalayan region.
Digital Library of the Caribbean
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Ethnographic Video for Instruction and Analysis (EVIA)
The EVIA Digital Archive Project is a collaborative endeavor to create a digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors.
Comprised of materials from two projects - Central American and Mexican Video Archive (CAMVA) Project and the Cultural and Linguistic Archive of Mesoamerica (CLAMA), both at Indiana University.
Nuer Fieldnotes from Eleanor Vandevort
Collection includes fieldnotes, photos, letters from Eleanor Vandevort's 13 years as a missionary in southern Sudan. Part of the IU Libraries African Studies Collection.
School of Oriental and African Studies Archives (UK)
The Archives & Special Collections section of SOAS Library holds an important and expanding collection of archives, manuscripts and rare printed books relating to Africa, Asia, the Caribbean and the Pacific. Two thirds of the archival collections comprise archives and papers documenting the activities of a number of major British missionary societies, and of individual missionaries, making SOAS the leading centre in the United Kingdom for mission studies.
Smithsonian Institute's Cultural Heritage Library
The Smithsonian Libraries' digital Cultural Heritage Library began in 2010 as a project to digitize the public domain collections housed in our History, Art, and Culture libraries.
Southeast Asia Digital Library
Drawn largely from the collections of universities and individual scholars in this region, the SEADL contains digital facsimiles of books and manuscripts, as well as multimedia materials and searchable indexes of additional Southeast Asian resources.
Repositories of Primary Sources
For more collections of primary sources arranged by region/country/state.
Academic Technologies & Seminaries Librarian
Subjects: Ancient & Classical Studies
, Comparative Languages & Linguistics (CLL)
, ELL - English Language Learning
, Film Studies
, French & Francophone Studies
, German & German Studies
, Human Development & Social Relations
, International Studies
, Jewish Studies
, Peace & Global Studies
, Spanish & Hispanic Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095