Earlham Libraries Home: All Sociology and Anthropology: Reference

Reference

Encyclopedia of Sociology by Edgar F. Borgatta, Rhonda J.V. Montgomery
ISBN: 0028648536
Publication Date: 2000
Online version of the five volume, 2nd edition (2000) of Macmillan's standard encyclopedia. It provides a scholarly introduction to the field.
The Encyclopedia of Sociology is in the Ready Reference Section, or use the linked title to access the full text online.

Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) This link opens in a new window
Books and articles in life, health, humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences.
Includes the complete texts of almost 300 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Wiley Blackwell Publishing in the Wiley Blackwell Reference Online collection. Also contains description-only citations of over 21,000 other online books, journals and articles.

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by Jodi A. O'Brien
ISBN: 1412909163
Publication Date: 2008
Covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies.

African American Studies Center (Oxford) This link opens in a new window
Articles from Oxford University Press books (e.g. Africana, African American National Biography), as well as primary source images, documents, and maps.
Over 7500 articles from a variety of Oxford University press books (e.g. Africana, African American National Biography), over 200 primary source documents, maps, timelines, links, and more.

International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family by Macmillan Library Reference Staff
ISBN: 9780028656724
Publication Date: 2003
Includes articles specific to countries and to religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change.

The Year's Work in Critical and Cultural Theory
Review articles of scholarly books and articles that deal with "theory", for want of a better word, including chapters on film studies and queer theories.
Online Sociology Resources - Library of Congress

Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History, 2nd ed. by Colin A. Palmer
ISBN: 9780028658162
Publication Date: 2005
A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Yearly summaries of current research in the field for natural and social sciences.
Full text of annual summaries of scholarship in over three dozen academic disciplines up through 2023.

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Lilly Library
Room 215

On sabbatical Spring 2025

765-983-1290

Subjects: ELL - English Language Learning, English, ESR-Bethany, Film Studies, German & German Studies, Human Development & Social Relations, Jewish Studies, Media and Communications, Peace & Global Studies, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Seminaries, Sociology/Anthropology