Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image
ESR & Bethany Resources
Science & Technology Commons
Friends Collection & College Archives
Facilities & Services
Hours
Library Home

Friends Collection and College Archives: Services and Policies During COVID-19

For detailed information about archival & genealogy collection availability check the archives home page.

Upcoming closures

Thanksgiving Break, Nov. 21-29

  • Closed

Requesting Circulating Books from the Friends Collection

This service is available for students, faculty and staff of Earlham College, ESR, and Bethany. It only applies to items labeled "Friends Collection and College Archives Friends - Main Collection" in the library catalog. Please note: Our stacks are not available for browsing, so if you need a book from the Friends circulating collection, you will need to place a hold.

Holds from the Friends collection will be available at the circulation desk on the main floor of Lilly Library. Materials will be pulled Monday-Friday, depending on staffing availability. Check for the hold pickup email to verify that your materials are ready before coming in to the library. 

How to Place a Hold

To place a hold: Search for items in the catalog, limit Held by Library to Earlham College, click the title of the item and click Request Hold. On the hold form, please choose that you want "Specific Copies or Volumes" and select the copy you want from the Lilly or Friends collections listed. If you would like to limit your search to just items housed in the Friends Collection and College Archives, see here.

Please see the "Library Services During Coronavirus/COVID-19" for more information on this and other library services.

Making appointments and reference and digitization services

The Earlham Friends Collection and College Archives is open for research by appointment to students, faculty, and staff of Earlham College, ESR, and Bethany. Please use this form to make an appointment.

Reference requests will be handled on a case-by-case basis. Acceptance of the request will depend on its size and staffing availability. Priority will be given to members of the Earlham community and members of the New Association of Friends and Indiana, Western, and Northern Yearly Meetings

Preparing for your appointment

Due to the small size of our reading room and to protect our staff and student workers, patrons will only be allowed to visit the Archive with an appointment.

Once you have made your appointment through our online form and receive a confirmation email from Jenny Freed, please send us a list of the items you would like to view, including non-circulating items in the open stacks. We will have your research materials pulled and waiting for you. Once you arrive, you will be directed to your research space. You must stay in your assigned space for the duration of your visit with us and follow campus safety protocols.

Please note that our open stacks are closed to the public.  If you would like to check out a book, please place a hold in the library catalog outside of your visit. You will find instructions on how to place a hold on this page.

Make an appointment

Please use this form to schedule your appointment with us.

Scanners

In the past we have allowed patrons to use the Archives' scanners for personal use such as class projects and scanning family photos. Due to the small size of our digitization room and the difficulty of cleaning the scanners between each use, this service is suspended until further notice.

Email our staff!

Do you have a question for our staff?

 

Email Us

Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095