Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
United States (Congress)
CQ Almanac This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the people, elections, legislation, and controversies in the US Congress from 1945-2011, with in-depth review and analysis of legislation and policy for each year, organized by policy area and comprehensive roll call votes for all major bills. legislation.
United States House of Representatives
"Provides public access to legislative information as well as information about Members, Committees, and Organizations of the House and to other U.S. government information resources."
United States Senate
Offers information about the "members of the Senate, Senate Committees, and Senate leadership and support offices" as well as "general background information about U.S. Senate legislative procedures, Senate facilities in the Capitol Building, and the
Biographical Dictionary of the US congress
Biographies, portraits, and bibliographies for all House and Senate members from 1774 - present. Many entries link to research collections elsewhere.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
The Congressional Research Service, a component of the Library of Congress, conducts research and analysis for Congress on a broad range of issues of national policy.
Since its inception, Roll Call, the newspaper of Capitol Hill since 1955, has written about and for the US Congress. Instead of tracking issues and legislation, the newspaper and site cover "the three Ps: people, politics, and process."
Congress.gov (replaces THOMAS: Legislative Information on the Internet)
The official site for Congress and Senate information. Contains links to the full text of legislation, full text of the Congressional Record, Congressional Record Index, Bill Summary & Status, Hot Legislation, the US Constitution, and more.
Congressional Record (bound)
The digital version of the Congressional Record (Bound edition) which is the permanent edition of the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. Each volume covers one session of congress, and is published in multiple parts. Coverage starts with Volume 1, 1873.
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095