HIST 488 -Senior Capstone Experience (Passman): Primary Documents

Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.

Full text of over 1100 magazines that began publishing in the USA between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary journals, children's and women's magazines, and more. Coverage extends to 1940 at the latest.

Full text of 425 journals and magazines covering all topics dating back to the 1800s. Coverage ends at 2000.

Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1785-1985.

Full-text page images of the complete run of the newspaper, including all content originally published. Covers social, political and cultural history, including fashion, theatre, media, literature, advertising and graphic design, and genealogy.

Contains more than five million cross-searchable pages sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries covering the history of the slave trade from the 17th century to the late 19th century. Material published through partnerships with more than 60 libraries at institutions such as the Amistad Research Center, the National Archives, Oberlin College, Oxford University, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and Yale University.

Primary documents covering the social justice efforts of Earlham, Goshen, and Manchester College, as well as their affiliated historic peace churches (Quakers, Mennonites, and Church of the Brethren) from the 1700s to the present.

Primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. Includes magazines, newspapers, pamphlets, and papers documenting United States and International perspectives on LGBTQ history, activism, and culture , primarily since 1940.
This collection at Earlham was made possible by an ARPA grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services, administered by the Indiana State Library.

Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women's political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women's voices, from female-authored literature to women's periodicals.

Far-Right and Left Political Groups in the U.S., Europe, & Australia - 20th Century --
A collection of rare primary sources from fringe groups of their time from both the right and left extremes of the political spectrum. Includes propaganda still considered controversial today as well as points-of-view now considered mainstream.

American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.