Skip to Main Content
Finding Art Images
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Contains the 34-volume reference set, The Grove Dictionary of Art, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and more.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of more than 370 periodicals and more than 220 books dating from the present to 1937. Includes a collection of over 63,000 images.
A growing collection of contemporary ceramics images by recognized artists enhancing ceramics education worldwide.
Google Cultural Institute Art Project
Google partnership with hundreds of museums, cultural institutions, and archives to host the world’s cultural treasures online. You can build your own image collections. Advanced search features include limiting by collection, place, medium, artist, and more.
An online fine art stock photo archive, with more than 500,000 searchable fine art images from a variety of sources. Metadata lists owning institution.
SPIRO (Slide and Photograph Image Retrieval Online)
SPIRO is the visual online public access catalog to the 35mm slide collection of the Architecture Visual Resources Library (AVRL) at the University of California at Berkeley. The collection numbers over 250,000 slides and 20,000 photographs.
Art History Resources on the Web
Mega collection of art history image sites maintained by Sweet Briar College.
Earlham Scanning Instructions
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095