Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image
ESR & Bethany Resources
Science & Technology Commons
Friends Collection & College Archives
Facilities & Services
Hours
Library Home

Quaker Women: Meeting Records

Resources on Quaker Women in the Earlham College Archive and Friends Collection

Introduction

The Friends Collection and Earlham College Archives is the official repository for the New Association of Friends and Indiana, Western, and Northern Yearly Meetings. Photocopies of the monthly meeting records for Indiana Yearly Meeting are available in the Genealogy Room. Patrons may browse these at their leisure. The remaining records are housed in a separate location. A member of the Archives' staff will need to assist you if you wish to study them.

American Quakers have traditionally kept extensive records of their activities. In addition to recording such events as births, deaths, and marriages, they wrote minutes detailing the proceedings of their business and committee meetings, and of various Quaker societies.

A member of the Archives' staff will be happy to assist you if you wish to study these records.

Indiana and Western Yearly Meetings

Until the early twentieth century, men's and women's activities in meetings were typically gender segregated, and as such kept distinct records. The Earlham College Archive houses the women's meeting minutes of Indiana Yearly Meeting and Western Yearly Meeting, and copies of these minutes can be found in the Genealogy Room or Cold Storage. Although meetings were gender segregated, they often dealt with the same issues. For example, women in Indiana Yearly Meeting had an antislavery society.

Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095