Earlham Libraries Home: All Engineering: Find Scholarly Articles and Books

Engineering Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area. A great starting point for any topic.
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.

Google Scholar
Add Earlham College under "Library Links" (within Settings) to access content within library database subscriptions. Google Scholar can also be used for citation searching - look for the "Cited By" link beneath the description of the article/item.

IEEE STEM 25 PLUS Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles about engineering and related topics.
IEEE STEM 25 Journals collection includes 25 IEEE periodicals including IEEE Spectrum.

Energy Citations Database (ECD). Find science, technology, and engineering research information from the US Department of Energy.

JOURNAL SOURCES

You can also easily browse for journal articles online through our electronic journal search. Search for individual titles in the search box, or browse journals alphabetically.
Science Direct (Elsevier) Engineering Journals. Through EC libraries you will be able to get access to any article in Science Direct.
PubMed Central (PMC) Journal List in Engineering. (List)

SciFinder-n (registration required for new users; use the next link in this list) This link opens in a new window
Index for scholarly articles on chemistry, medicine, engineering, and more. Also includes functions for searching substances and reactions.
SciFinder-n New User Registration (you must enter an Earlham email address; complete registration by responding to the link in the confirmation email once, and THEREAFTER use only the link above, not the confirmation email link) This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free-to-access scholarship on biomedical and life sciences from the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
BioOne This link opens in a new window
Scholarly scientific journal articles, particularly in the areas of vertebrate and invertebrate biology, ecology, and the environment.
Full text of over 50 journals from scholarly science societies: with an emphasis on vertebrate and invertebrate biology, ecology, and the environment. Coverage from 2000 to the present.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Journal Archives This link opens in a new window
Journal articles about chemistry.
Full text of articles published in American Chemical Society Journals, 1879 to present.

Earlham Libraries Catalog & Beyond This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
eBooks in almost every subject area. Titles also appear in the Library Catalog.
Contains over 140,000 ebooks that you can read online or download. Titles also appear in the Library Catalog, but going direct through this link will let you search the full-text of all the books and browse every title. (Formerly ebrary.)

Google Books
This site offers full text and photos for out of copyright books and "snippets" for those not in the public domain. The snippets themselves can be useful, and may lead you to interlibrary loan requests.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 40,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

Ebook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks covering a wide range of academic subjects. Titles also appear in the Library Catalog.
A multidisciplinary collection that includes more than 205,000 e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses. All e-books are available with unlimited user access, and new titles are added regularly to the collection.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Engineering reference tools, including textbooks, videos, calculators, interactive graphs and tables, and more.
Award-winning engineering reference platform for academics, students, and professionals.