Earlham Libraries Home: All African Studies: Reference

Reference Sources

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents covering the history of the slave trade, 1600s-1800s.
Contains more than five million cross-searchable pages sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries covering the history of the slave trade from the 17th century to the late 19th century. Material published through partnerships with more than 60 libraries at institutions such as the Amistad Research Center, the National Archives, Oberlin College, Oxford University, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and Yale University.

New Encyclopedia of Africa by John Middleton
ISBN: 9780684315577
Publication Date: 2008
Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict. Covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450 by Thomas Benjamin
ISBN: 9780028658438
Publication Date: 2006
The overseas empires of Western Europe, including the US first as colony then as colonizer, is deemed here to have ended in the middle to late 20th century. Over 400 articles provide information about such aspects as economic concepts and ideas, explorations and migrations, industries, organizations and institutions, people and peoples, religions,
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa, 2nd ed. by Phillip Mattar
ISBN: 9780028657691
Publication Date: 2004
The set covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy and government.

Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Brief biographical information about a number of well-known people.
Offers the in-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series, the thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Full text biographies on notable people.
This database offers a collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies. Including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).

Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions by Stephen D. Glazier
ISBN: 0415922453
Publication Date: 2001
This important new reference covers African and African-American religion in sub-Saharan Africa, North America, South America, and the Caribbean, and provides vital insights into its growing worldwide influence in Europe, Asia and the South Pacific. Entries encompass individuals, concepts, specific religions, religious movements and churches, and include: Akan, Aladura, Azusa Street Mission, Black theology, candomble, Dominican vodun, the Harrist movement, Jamaa, Macumba, Mission des Noirs, Mt. Sinai Holy Church, Nuer, Pentecostalism, Pocomania, Santería, Southern Christian Leadership Conference, Unification Church, Yoruba, and many more. Photos, illustrations, and source material round out the package.

Email Me

Contact:

Request a Research Appointment

765-973-2106

Subjects: Chinese Studies, Earlham Seminar 1, Earlham Seminar 2, Education, Film Studies, News, Reference, Writing & Citing