Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Journal Archives This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles published in American Chemical Society Journals, 1879 to present.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Full text of annual summaries of scholarship in over three dozen academic disciplines up through 2020.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 50 journals from scholarly science societies: with an emphasis on vertebrate and invertebrate biology, ecology, and the environment. Coverage from 2000 to the present.
General Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes periodicals on astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, math, medicine, and physics, 1983 to present. Earlham subscribes to almost all of the content, either as online full text or as print.
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 30 journals in the geosciences dating back to the mid-1970s for most journals.
Health Business FullTEXT This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text coverage for nearly 130 well-known administrative journals. Critical for hospital administrators and managers, this database includes publications covering the business of health care administration and much more.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text consumer health information taken from magazines, reference books, and pamphlets.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health fields is particularly strong.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences, plus full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
Find an article using Google Scholar
Do you already know what you're looking for? Try searching Google Scholar for the title of the article.
Finding the actual article
Once you find a citation to an article- STEPS to take:
1. Try Google Scholar - search using article name
- Is there a HTML or PDF link? -> Yes? Good to go. No? Next step...
- Is there Full Text @ Earlham? -> Yes? Good to go. No? Next step...
- Are there multiple forms? Click "All __ Versions" and look for HTML or PDF format -> Yes? Good to go. No? Next step...
2. Try Earlham Library - search Libraries Worldwide using article name (note: remove special punctuation)
- Is it in Earlham's library? -> Yes? Good to go. No? Next step...
- Request an Interlibrary Loan -> follow link below article to autofill request form.
3. Alternatively, request a copy from the primary author (see text box to the right)
Text to email author
Subject: Research Article Request <if possible add two or three words that summarize what the article is about>
Dear Dr. <Last name>
I was doing some research and found your paper in "<Journal Title you find it in>" titled "<Title of paper>" very interesting. Unfortunately, my institution does not have access to a Fulltext (PDF) of your article. I was wondering if you would be willing to share with me an e-copy of your article. Any help you could provide would be greatly appreciated and will help me in my research.
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095