Skip to Main Content

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

African and African American Studies

Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) This link opens in a new window
Books and articles in life, health, humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences.
Includes the complete texts of almost 300 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Wiley Blackwell Publishing in the Wiley Blackwell Reference Online collection. Also contains description-only citations of over 21,000 other online books, journals and articles.

Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History, 2nd ed. by Colin A. Palmer
ISBN: 9780028658162
Publication Date: 2005
A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.
New Encyclopedia of Africa by John Middleton
ISBN: 9780684315577
Publication Date: 2008
Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict. Covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism.

African American Studies Center (Oxford) This link opens in a new window
Articles from Oxford University Press books (e.g. Africana, African American National Biography), as well as primary source images, documents, and maps.
Over 7500 articles from a variety of Oxford University press books (e.g. Africana, African American National Biography), over 200 primary source documents, maps, timelines, links, and more.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents covering the history of the slave trade, 1600s-1800s.
Contains more than five million cross-searchable pages sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries covering the history of the slave trade from the 17th century to the late 19th century. Material published through partnerships with more than 60 libraries at institutions such as the Amistad Research Center, the National Archives, Oberlin College, Oxford University, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and Yale University.

Business and Nonprofit Encyclopedias

Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) This link opens in a new window
Books and articles in life, health, humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences.
Includes the complete texts of almost 300 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Wiley Blackwell Publishing in the Wiley Blackwell Reference Online collection. Also contains description-only citations of over 21,000 other online books, journals and articles.

Oxford Reference Online - Business & Management
Contains the complete texts of Oxford University Press dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference titles.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History by Joel Mokyr
ISBN: 9780195105070
Publication Date: 2003
The general conceptual categories of the work are: Geography (entries on cities, countries, and regions); Agriculture; Production Systems, Business History, and Technology; Demography; Institutions, Governments, and Markets; Macroeconomic History and International Economics; Money, Banking and Finance; Labor; Natural Resources and the Environment; and Biographies.
Oxford Dictionary of Business and Management by Jonathan Law
ISBN: 9780191765278
Publication Date: 2016
This wide-ranging and authoritative dictionary contains 7,000 entries covering all areas of business and management, including marketing, organizational behavior, business strategy, and taxation. It contains American business terms, general management concepts (competence, knowledge management), named theories (Tannenbaum and Schmidt, Blake and Mouton) as well as expanded coverage of the contemporary theory of the firm and human resources. New terms are included from the fast-moving areas of current affairs (MiFID), Internet business, and information technology.

Economics

Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) This link opens in a new window
Books and articles in life, health, humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences.
Includes the complete texts of almost 300 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Wiley Blackwell Publishing in the Wiley Blackwell Reference Online collection. Also contains description-only citations of over 21,000 other online books, journals and articles.

Oxford Reference Online - Economics
Contains the complete texts of Oxford University Press dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference titles.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History by Joel Mokyr
ISBN: 9780195105070
Publication Date: 2003
The general conceptual categories of the work are: Geography (entries on cities, countries, and regions); Agriculture; Production Systems, Business History, and Technology; Demography; Institutions, Governments, and Markets; Macroeconomic History and International Economics; Money, Banking and Finance; Labor; Natural Resources and the Environment; and Biographies.

Education

Encyclopedia of Education by James Guthrie
ISBN: 9780028655949
Publication Date: 2003
This fully-revised second edition offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features include 140 biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full-text primary source documents including education-related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.

History - United States

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Pulls articles from a wide range of encyclopedias and dictionaries written by subject experts.
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
American Decades This link opens in a new window
Online version of a 10-volume encyclopedia. Provides sociocultural information about each 20th century decade, 1900-1990s.
Online version of the 10-volume reference set from Gale (2001). Provides sociocultural contexts of a given decade, 1900-1990s.
American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographies of noteworthy Americans.
Online version of the multi-volume set that provides scholarly biographies of important people in all walks of American life.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Brief biographical information about a number of well-known people.
Offers the in-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series, the thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Full text biographies on notable people.
This database offers a collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies. Including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).
Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) This link opens in a new window
Books and articles in life, health, humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences.
Includes the complete texts of almost 300 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Wiley Blackwell Publishing in the Wiley Blackwell Reference Online collection. Also contains description-only citations of over 21,000 other online books, journals and articles.
Daily Life Online This link opens in a new window
Resource that explores what everyday life was like for people in different time periods and cultures, from ancient times to the present.
Online version of over four dozen print volumes that explore different cultures and everyday life around the world, past and present, including the Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life.

Dictionary of American History by Stanley I. Kutler
ISBN: 0684805332
Publication Date: 2003
10 Volumes. 3rd edition. A collection of primary source documents appears in Volume 9.
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History, 2nd ed. by Colin A. Palmer
ISBN: 9780028658162
Publication Date: 2005
A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.
Encyclopedia of the American Revolution: Library of Military History by Harold E Selesky
ISBN: 9780684315133
Publication Date: 2006
Features include biographies of key participants, and details regarding campaigns, strategies, battles, political issues, and events.

African American Studies Center (Oxford) This link opens in a new window
Articles from Oxford University Press books (e.g. Africana, African American National Biography), as well as primary source images, documents, and maps.
Over 7500 articles from a variety of Oxford University press books (e.g. Africana, African American National Biography), over 200 primary source documents, maps, timelines, links, and more.

Oxford Reference Online - History
Contains the complete texts of Oxford University Press dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference titles.

Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
Overview essays on American popular culture by decade, 1900s through 2000s.
Overview essays on American popular culture by decade from 1900s through 2000s. For each decade includes sections on Architecture and Housing; Books and Literature; Business, Advertising, and Consumer Culture; Clothing, Fashion, and Appearance; Film; Food and Drink; Music; Performing Arts and Theater; Recreation and Leisure; Sports; Technology and Media; Television and Radio; Transportation and Travel; and Visual Arts. Includes media.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents covering the history of the slave trade, 1600s-1800s.
Contains more than five million cross-searchable pages sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries covering the history of the slave trade from the 17th century to the late 19th century. Material published through partnerships with more than 60 libraries at institutions such as the Amistad Research Center, the National Archives, Oberlin College, Oxford University, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and Yale University.
Working Americans This link opens in a new window
Historical reference series providing information on daily life for different groups of Americans across time, differentiated by class, gender, race, and more.
Online version of the Gale/Grey House multivolume set.

History - World

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Pulls articles from a wide range of encyclopedias and dictionaries written by subject experts.
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Brief biographical information about a number of well-known people.
Offers the in-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series, the thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Full text biographies on notable people.
This database offers a collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies. Including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).
Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) This link opens in a new window
Books and articles in life, health, humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences.
Includes the complete texts of almost 300 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Wiley Blackwell Publishing in the Wiley Blackwell Reference Online collection. Also contains description-only citations of over 21,000 other online books, journals and articles.
Daily Life Online This link opens in a new window
Resource that explores what everyday life was like for people in different time periods and cultures, from ancient times to the present.
Online version of over four dozen print volumes that explore different cultures and everyday life around the world, past and present, including the Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life.

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by Valerie Steele
ISBN: 9780684313948
Publication Date: 2004
From diapers to Dior, saris to serapes, the world of clothing is nearly as vast and as ancient as the human race. Tracing the stylistic and functional threads that unite clothing across time and cultures, as well as delving into the divergent styles and significance of apparel, this A to Z encyclopedia is the essential resource for exploring the relationship between culture and couture.
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment by Alan Charles Kors
ISBN: 9780195104301
Publication Date: 2002
Covering the “long” Enlightenment, from the rise of Descartes' disciples in 1670 to the restoration of the Bourbon monarchy in 1815, these 700 articles by leading scholars range from discussions of mercantilism and democracy to the battlefield to the dissemination of ideas in salons and coffeehouses. Breaking conventional geographical boundaries, coverage includes not only Western Europe but also North America, Brazil, and Iberian, Russian, Jewish, and Eastern European cultures.
Encyclopedia of European Social History by Peter Stearns
ISBN: 0684805820
Publication Date: 2001
Available in print and online, the Encyclopedia of European Social History covers all aspects of European social history from the Renaissance to the present. This six-volume reference includes more than 230 articles, ranging from 5,000 to 10,000 words, on everything from serfdom and the economy, to witchcraft and public health. This reference provides a survey of hundreds of topics. Included are more than 700 photographs, drawings and maps. The sixth volume also includes biographies of prominent European figures and a comprehensive index.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages by André Vauchez
ISBN: 9780227679319
Publication Date: 2001
Contains over 3000 articles, ranging from a few sentences to 10,000 word essays, which provide information on all aspects of the Middle Ages, from the fifth century to the 15th. Cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history is covered, and while the main concentration is on Europe and Christendom, the rise of Islam and Arabs, and of other civilizations with which Europeans came into contact is also extensively treated.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450 by Thomas Benjamin
ISBN: 9780028658438
Publication Date: 2006
The overseas empires of Western Europe, including the US first as colony then as colonizer, is deemed here to have ended in the middle to late 20th century. Over 400 articles provide information about such aspects as economic concepts and ideas, explorations and migrations, industries, organizations and institutions, people and peoples, religions,
Europe 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World by Jonathan Dewald
ISBN: 9780684312002
Publication Date: 2003
A six-volume survey of European history from 1450, the beginning of the print revolution, to 1789 and the French Revolution. Presents over 1,000 alphabetically arranged entries covering the period's most significant personalities and meaningful developments in the arts, religion, politics, exploration, and warfare.
Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear through the Ages by Sara Pendergast, Tom Pendergast & Sarah Hermsen
ISBN: 9781414498485
Publication Date: 2003
Provides a broad overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric times to the present day. Examines more than 430 items of human decoration and adornment, ranging from togas to turbans, necklaces to tennis shoes. Explores how and why items were created, the people who made them, and their uses. This set shows how clothing, headwear, body decorations, and footwear reflect the different cultural, religious, and societal beliefs.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas by Maryanne Cline Horowitz
ISBN: 0684313774
Publication Date: 2004
A survey of the history of Western thought and culture that explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others. Experts from various disciplines examine major developments in intellectual history during the past 30 years reflecting all aspects of knowledge from a global and gender-inclusive perspective, allowing readers to trace ideas and concepts across culture and time periods.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance by Gordon Campbell
ISBN: 9780198601753
Publication Date: 2003
Over 3,000 entries covering topics including art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict. Over half of the entries are biographical, covering artists, architects, garden designers, philosophers, explorers, royalty, cardinals, reformers, statesman, writers, poets, playwrights, soldiers, rebels, woodcarvers, silversmiths, mystics, mathematicians, sculptors, and composers.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History by Joel Mokyr
ISBN: 9780195105070
Publication Date: 2003
The general conceptual categories of the work are: Geography (entries on cities, countries, and regions); Agriculture; Production Systems, Business History, and Technology; Demography; Institutions, Governments, and Markets; Macroeconomic History and International Economics; Money, Banking and Finance; Labor; Natural Resources and the Environment; and Biographies.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation by Hans J. Hillerbrand
ISBN: 9780195064933
Publication Date: 1996
Setting the issues of theology and ecclesiology within the broader context of the social and intellectual history of the time, it is the most authoritative reference available on early modern European society as a whole. The Encyclopedia is a unique compendium of contemporary scholarship focusing on the complete range of religious and social changes wrought by the Reformation-- including not only issues of church polity and theology but also related developments in politics, economics, demographics, art, and literature.

Oxford Reference Online - History
Contains the complete texts of Oxford University Press dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference titles

Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
Overview essays on American popular culture by decade, 1900s through 2000s.
Overview essays on American popular culture by decade from 1900s through 2000s. For each decade includes sections on Architecture and Housing; Books and Literature; Business, Advertising, and Consumer Culture; Clothing, Fashion, and Appearance; Film; Food and Drink; Music; Performing Arts and Theater; Recreation and Leisure; Sports; Technology and Media; Television and Radio; Transportation and Travel; and Visual Arts. Includes media.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents covering the history of the slave trade, 1600s-1800s.
Contains more than five million cross-searchable pages sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries covering the history of the slave trade from the 17th century to the late 19th century. Material published through partnerships with more than 60 libraries at institutions such as the Amistad Research Center, the National Archives, Oberlin College, Oxford University, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and Yale University.

International Studies

Daily Life Online This link opens in a new window
Resource that explores what everyday life was like for people in different time periods and cultures, from ancient times to the present.
Online version of over four dozen print volumes that explore different cultures and everyday life around the world, past and present, including the Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life.

New Encyclopedia of Africa by John Middleton
ISBN: 9780684315577
Publication Date: 2008
Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict. Covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism.
Encyclopedia of India by Stanley A. Wolpert
ISBN: 0684313499
Publication Date: 2005
The Encyclopedia of India cover the history, cultures, geography, and religions of India from ancient times to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World by Richard C. Martin
ISBN: 9780028656038
Publication Date: 2003
A look at Islam's role in the modern world, in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa, 2nd ed. by Phillip Mattar
ISBN: 9780028657691
Publication Date: 2004
The set covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy and government.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia by Karen Christensen and David Levinson
ISBN: 9780684806174
Publication Date: 2002
Presents more than 2,600 entries covering such subjects as countries, cities, regions, natural features, religions, social issues, languages, people, events, customs, politics, and economics.

Politics

Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) This link opens in a new window
Books and articles in life, health, humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences.
Includes the complete texts of almost 300 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Wiley Blackwell Publishing in the Wiley Blackwell Reference Online collection. Also contains description-only citations of over 21,000 other online books, journals and articles.

Oxford Reference Online - Law
Contains the complete texts of Oxford University Press dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference titles.
Oxford Reference Online - Politics
Contains the complete texts of Oxford University Press dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference titles.

Psychology

Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) This link opens in a new window
Books and articles in life, health, humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences.
Includes the complete texts of almost 300 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Wiley Blackwell Publishing in the Wiley Blackwell Reference Online collection. Also contains description-only citations of over 21,000 other online books, journals and articles.

The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science by W. Edward Craighead & Charles B. Nemeroff
ISBN: 0471437298
Publication Date: 2001
Over 1,200 entries from over seven hundred experts from around the world. Includes a bibliography of over 10,000 citations.
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology by Roy F. Baumeister; Kathleen D. Vohs
ISBN: 9781412916707
Publication Date: 2007
Oxford Dictionary of Psychology by Andrew M. Colman
ISBN: 9780199534067
Publication Date: 2009
This dictionary covers all branches of psychology including psychoanalysis and psychiatry. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods. There are also print dictionaries of psychology in the Lilly Library reference section in BF31.
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology by Charles Spielberger
ISBN: 0126574103
Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior by Pamela Korsmeyer and Henry R. Kranzler
ISBN: 9780028660646
Publication Date: 2008
Explores the social, medical, legal and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors.
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family by Macmillan Library Reference Staff
ISBN: 9780028656724
Publication Date: 2003
Includes articles specific to countries and to religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change.

Sociology and Anthropology

Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) This link opens in a new window
Books and articles in life, health, humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences.
Includes the complete texts of almost 300 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Wiley Blackwell Publishing in the Wiley Blackwell Reference Online collection. Also contains description-only citations of over 21,000 other online books, journals and articles.
Daily Life Online This link opens in a new window
Resource that explores what everyday life was like for people in different time periods and cultures, from ancient times to the present.
Online version of over four dozen print volumes that explore different cultures and everyday life around the world, past and present, including the Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life.

Encyclopedia of Social Work by Richard A. English (Editor)
ISBN: 9780871013538
Publication Date: 2003
Comprehensive and coherent with scholarly articles that are easily understandable, the Encyclopedia of Social Work puts the complete knowledge base of the profession, and an indispensable personal reference library, at a reader's fingertips.
Encyclopedia of Sociology by Edgar F. Borgatta, Rhonda J.V. Montgomery
ISBN: 0028648536
Publication Date: 2000
Online version of the five volume, 2nd edition (2000) of Macmillan's standard encyclopedia. It provides a scholarly introduction to the field.
The Encyclopedia of Sociology is in the Ready Reference Section, or use the linked title to access the full text online.

African American Studies Center (Oxford) This link opens in a new window
Articles from Oxford University Press books (e.g. Africana, African American National Biography), as well as primary source images, documents, and maps.
Over 7500 articles from a variety of Oxford University press books (e.g. Africana, African American National Biography), over 200 primary source documents, maps, timelines, links, and more.
Working Americans This link opens in a new window
Historical reference series providing information on daily life for different groups of Americans across time, differentiated by class, gender, race, and more.
Online version of the Gale/Grey House multivolume set.

Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History, 2nd ed. by Colin A. Palmer
ISBN: 9780028658162
Publication Date: 2005
A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.
Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear through the Ages by Sara Pendergast, Tom Pendergast & Sarah Hermsen
ISBN: 9781414498485
Publication Date: 2003
Provides a broad overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric times to the present day. Examines more than 430 items of human decoration and adornment, ranging from togas to turbans, necklaces to tennis shoes. Explores how and why items were created, the people who made them, and their uses. This set shows how clothing, headwear, body decorations, and footwear reflect the different cultural, religious, and societal beliefs.
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family by Macmillan Library Reference Staff
ISBN: 9780028656724
Publication Date: 2003
Includes articles specific to countries and to religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by Jodi A. O'Brien
ISBN: 1412909163
Publication Date: 2008
Covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies.

Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095