Skip to Main Content
ESR & Bethany Resources
Friends Collection & College Archives
Facilities & Services
Oxford English Dictionary Word of the Day
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Online version of the multi-volume set that provides scholarly biographies of important people in all walks of American life.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Offers the in-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series, the thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database offers a collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies. Including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).
Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada.
Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete texts of almost 300 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Wiley Blackwell Publishing in the Wiley Blackwell Reference Online collection. Also contains description-only citations of over 21,000 other online books, journals and articles.
Brill's Encyclopedia of China by Daniel Leese
Publication Date: 2008
Brill's Encyclopedia of China (see also www.brill.nl/encyclopediachina ) is a convenient reference on China from its early beginnings, with a clear focus on the modern period from the mid-nineteenth century to the 21st century. Arranged in alphabetical order, it covers the history, geography, society, economy, politics, science, and culture of China. All contributions are written by an international team of European, Asian, Australian and American experts, carefully selected from a wide spectrum of academic disciplines.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas by Maryanne Cline Horowitz
Publication Date: 2004
A survey of the history of Western thought and culture that explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others. Experts from various disciplines examine major developments in intellectual history during the past 30 years reflecting all aspects of knowledge from a global and gender-inclusive perspective, allowing readers to trace ideas and concepts across culture and time periods.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Current, online version of the famous dictionary.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete texts of over 100 Oxford University Press dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference titles.
Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
Overview essays on American popular culture by decade from 1900s through 2000s. For each decade includes sections on Architecture and Housing; Books and Literature; Business, Advertising, and Consumer Culture; Clothing, Fashion, and Appearance; Film; Food and Drink; Music; Performing Arts and Theater; Recreation and Leisure; Sports; Technology and Media; Television and Radio; Transportation and Travel; and Visual Arts.
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095