Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Aids for Plays
Play publisher of musicals, drama, theatre for young audiences, comedies, duet-scenes, monologues, one-acts, and other theatre resources.
Dramatist Play Service, Inc.
Publisher of thousands of plays in "acting editions," including full-length,, short, musicals, collections, and not-yet-published. To search their offerings, you can use the PlayFinder found on their homepage.
Inter-Play: An Index to Plays in Collections, Anthologies, and Periodicals
Indexes plays by author and title, and identifies books and periodicals in which the play is located. You will then need to obtain the items either from the library's collection or interlibrary loan.
MTI: Musical Theatre International
MTI is another large purveyor of materials for musical theatre productions.
Play Index This link opens in a new window
This unique resource covers classic and historical plays, along with the works of contemporary playwrights. Play Index covers new editions and translations, and includes descriptive annotations to summarize the plot and indicate musical requirements.
Playscripts publishes over 1000 new plays and its Web site may be searched according to different criteria and provides lengthy script samples for free.
Samuel French, Inc.
Publisher of thousands of plays in "acting edition" [same scope as Dramatists Play Service above]. A search engine is included on their homepage.
Tams-Witmark Music Library, Inc.
Tams licenses and offers scripts, musical scores, orchestrations, prompt books, and conductor scores for musical theatre productions.
Associate Library Director
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095