Earlham Libraries Home: All Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: Primary Documents

Library Primary Documents

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: Gale Primary Sources Archives This link opens in a new window
Primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. Includes magazines, newspapers, pamphlets, and papers documenting United States and International perspectives on LGBTQ history, activism, and culture, primarily since 1940.

This collection at Earlham was made possible by an ARPA grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services, administered by the Indiana State Library.
Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window
Primary sources focusing on women's history and the feminist movements of the 19th and 20th centuries.
Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women's political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women's voices, from female-authored literature to women's periodicals.
Political Extremism and Radicalism This link opens in a new window
Primary sources from far-right and far-left political groups in the U.S., Europe, & Australia in the 20th century. Note: the collection includes text and images that may be considered offensive.
A collection of rare primary sources from fringe groups of their time from both the right and left extremes of the political spectrum. Includes propaganda still considered controversial today as well as points-of-view now considered mainstream.

American Memory-Women's History
Primary documents from the Library of Congress on women in American history.
Harvard - Women Working, 1800-1930
A collection of historical manuscripts, books & pamphlets, and photographs from Harvard University's libraries and museums focusing on women's participation in the U.S. economy.
International Women's Human Rights Resources Database
This database lists hundreds of primary and secondary resources -- articles, documents and links -- related to international women's rights law and Canadian women's rights law. Annotations describe the content of each resource. Users can search by keyword and author as well as browse by women's rights topic. Full-text documents are provided where available.
United Nations: WomenWatch
WomenWatch is the central gateway to information and resources on the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women throughout the United Nations system, including the United Nations Secretariat, regional commissions, funds, programmes, specialized agencies and academic and research institutions.