Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From the Catalog
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace^ by
Publication Date: 2010
Finding peaceful solutions to the world's increasingly complex problems will be a huge task, which must also be based upon knowledge, experience and research. I hope that this important new Encyclopedia will reach a global lay audience as well as policy makers and academic experts and encourage many thousands of readers to study further and work harder for the peace on which our whole future depends. -From the Foreword by His Holiness the Dalai Lama This innovative, multivolume encyclopedia charts the interdisciplinary field of Peace Studies, offering a comprehensive survey of the full range of historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict. All major figures are covered, as well as major events, organizations, theories, and much more. Each entry is signed by a leading scholar in the field, contains a bibliography for further reading, and is cross-referenced with other useful points of interest within the encyclopedia. In addition to A-to-Z entries, the Encyclopedia also includes a peace chronology, key documents and appendices. Key subjects covered include: world leaders (Mahatma Gandhi, Margaret Mead, Cesar Chavez, Martin Luther King, Jr., Lucretia Mott); major events (Cuban Missile Crisis, Dayton Accords, Good Friday Agreement, Lebanon Hostage Crisis); organizations (Greenpeace, League of Nations, United Nations, Save the Children, International Committee of the Red Cross); theories (Civil Disobedience, Conscientious Objection, Feminism and Peace, Power and Nonviolence Theory, Eco-Pacifism, Gay Rights); and current events (Chemical and Biological Weapons, Human Rights, War Crimes, Terrorism).
Encyclopedia of the United Nations by
Publication Date: 2002
Endorsed with a foreword by former U.N. Secretary-General Kofi Annan, this is the most comprehensive, detailed reference to the U.N. ever published.
Encyclopedia of Conflicts since World War II by
Publication Date: 2006-12-19
Thoroughly revised to include 26 conflicts not covered in the previous edition, as well as expanded and updated information on previous coverage, this illustrated reference presents descriptions and analyses of more than 170 significant post-World War II conflicts around the globe. Organized by region for ease of access, Encyclopedia of Conflicts Since World War II, Second Edition provides clear, in-depth explanations of events not covered in such detail in any other reference source. Including more than 180 detailed maps and 150 photos, the set highlights the conflicts that dominate today's headlines and the events that changed the course of late twentieth-century history.
Essentials of Global Politics by
Publication Date: 2010
This work provides an overview of the most important contemporary events and themes of global politics--including globalisation, the ever-present threat of war, and conflict and terrorism. With the aid of maps, lists, key facts and summary information, it offers a discussion of the effects that globalisation has had on global affairs.
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity by
Publication Date: 2004
Genocide has been with us since the beginning of history and is a key element of the study of world history at nearly every level. The most widely-studied and catastrophic examples are, however, historically close to the present day: the Nazi Holocaust, ``ethnic cleansing'' in Bosnia, tribal warfare in Rwanda and more. The Encyclopedia spans the globe to explain the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large. It traces the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity, profiles perpetrators and heroes, and explains international laws and law proceedings aimed at ending these practices. It also delves into depictions and manifestations of the phenomenon, such as propaganda, sociological and philosophical explanations, literature and film.
Academic Technologies & Seminaries Librarian
Subjects: Ancient & Classical Studies
, Comparative Languages & Linguistics (CLL)
, ELL - English Language Learning
, Film Studies
, French & Francophone Studies
, German & German Studies
, Human Development & Social Relations
, International Studies
, Jewish Studies
, Peace & Global Studies
, Spanish & Hispanic Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095