Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Sources and Web Sites
Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online)
Includes the complete texts of almost 300 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Wiley Blackwell Publishing in the Wiley Blackwell Reference Online collection. Also contains description-only citations of over 21,000 other online books, journals and articles.
Publication Date: 2014
Updated edition of the Encyclopedia of Bioethics. In nearly 500 entries averaging 4000 words, key concepts and issues in bioethics are explained. Many subjects--such as abortion, animal rights, genetic testing--are discussed in terms of various perspectives: religious, ethical, policy/law, etc. Entries have bibliographies and cross references to other articles; also included are tables/charts/graphs, a topical outline, an annotated bibliography, an annotated list of legal cases, an annotated filmography, and an index.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy by
Publication Date: 2005
Online version of the 10-volume, 2nd edition of Macmillan's standard encyclopedia (2006). An excellent starting point for research on topics related to philosophy.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas by
Publication Date: 2004
A survey of the history of Western thought and culture that explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others. Experts from various disciplines examine major developments in intellectual history during the past 30 years reflecting all aspects of knowledge from a global and gender-inclusive perspective, allowing readers to trace ideas and concepts across culture and time periods.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A scholarly and authoritative encyclopedia of philosophy, available for free online.
Perseus Digital Library
The Perseus Project is funded by the Alpheios Project, the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the , the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the National Endowment for the Humanities, the National Science Foundation, private donations, and Tufts University.
Subjects: Ancient & Classical Studies
, Comparative Languages & Linguistics (CLL)
, ELL - English Language Learning
, Film Studies
, French & Francophone Studies
, German & German Studies
, Human Development & Social Relations
, International Studies
, Jewish Studies
, Peace & Global Studies
, Spanish & Hispanic Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095