Earlham Libraries Home: All French & Francophone Studies: Reference Sources and Web Sites

Reference Sources

French Studies Web
A great place to browse for high-quality links, maintained by the Western European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries.

Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450 by Thomas Benjamin
ISBN: 9780028658438
Publication Date: 2006
The overseas empires of Western Europe, including the US first as colony then as colonizer, is deemed here to have ended in the middle to late 20th century. Over 400 articles provide information about such aspects as economic concepts and ideas, explorations and migrations, industries, organizations and institutions, people and peoples, religions,

Encyclopedia of Diderot and d'Alembert
Online version of the 28-volume encyclopedia published between 1751 and 1772, courtesy of the ARTFL Project at the University of Chicago. Search and browse the encyclopedia in English, but the results are in French.
Lexique des termes littéraires
A dictionary of literary terms, courtesy of lettres.net, an online resource for francophone professors and students of literature.
Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution
Courtesy of George Mason University, over 600 primary documents.
The Siege and Commune of Paris, 1870-1871
Courtesy of Northwestern University, over 1200 images and photographs.
CESAR: calendrier électronique des spectacles sous l'ancien régime et sous la révolution
Explores the world of 17th- and 18th-century French theater. It includes an imagebank containing thousands of images, and a full-text database of contemporary play reviews, police reports, and treatises on drama.

she/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Lilly Library
Room 218
Request a Research Appointment

Subjects: Accounting, Ancient & Classical Studies, Business, Comparative Languages & Linguistics (CLL), French & Francophone Studies, International Studies, Japanese Studies, Politics, Public Policy, Social Services, Spanish & Hispanic Studies