Earlham Libraries Home: ES2: The Colin Kaepernick Effect: Articles

Historic newspaper search hints

Because language changes, be sure to use search terms used at the time the materials were created, even if those terms are now obsolete. For example, the following historic terms will produce more results than their modern-day counterparts:

Modern Usage vs. Historic Usage comparison table
Modern Usage	Historic Usage
gas, service station	filling station
African American	Afro American, Negro
voting rights	suffrage

From:Chronicling of America-(The Library of Congress) - http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/help/

Finding Known Articles

Steps for finding items listed in bibliographies

Locate a bibliographic citation. Look at the list of sources in subject encyclopedias and bibliographies.
Determine if the source is a book or an article in a journal. Some clues
Does it have volume and/or issue numbers? Does the date include a month? Then it's most likely from a journal.
Is a publisher and/or place of publication included in the citation? Then it is probably from a book.
Check to see if we have local access to the item or can obtain through interlibrary loan.
- Book: Search the Library Catalog -- It will tell you if Earlham or any other libraries own the item.
- Journals: Search "Find It @ Earlham Libraries" . It can determine if we have access to a journal.
What if we don't own it? Request it from another through interlibrary loan. Log into ILL to create the request or use the Interlibrary Loan links in WorldCat and article databases. Interlibrary Loan is free for students!

Scholarly Journals

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly articles about historical topics within the United States and Canada. Allows for searching by historical time period.
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from pre-history to the present. Indexes over 1,700 journals dating back as far as 1910. Allows for searching by historical time period, a major advantage given the extensive range of its coverage.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area. A great starting point for any topic.
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources in a wide variety of disciplines.
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.

Historical Popular Magazines

American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
American magazines that began publishing between 1740-1900. Coverage extends to the 1940s at the latest.
Full text of over 1100 magazines that began publishing in the USA between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary journals, children's and women's magazines, and more. Coverage extends to 1940 at the latest.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and magazines in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage ends at 2000.
Full text of 425 journals and magazines covering all topics dating back to the 1800s. Coverage ends at 2000.

Historic Newspaper Archives

Library Purchased Archives

American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
American magazines that began publishing between 1740-1900. Coverage extends to the 1940s at the latest.
Full text of over 1100 magazines that began publishing in the USA between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary journals, children's and women's magazines, and more. Coverage extends to 1940 at the latest.
New York Times (Historical Newspaper Archive) This link opens in a new window
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1851 up to the past three years and includes the New York Times Book Review and the New York Times Magazine.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from African American publications spanning a wide range of American history.
More than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Richmond Palladium-Item archive (via US Midwest Newsstream) This link opens in a new window
Coverage dates: November 7, 1999 - present.
Use the top box on the linked page to search the entire available archive, or scroll down to the smaller box to search within a specific issue.