Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image
ESR & Bethany Resources
Science & Technology Commons
Friends Collection & College Archives
Facilities & Services
Hours
Library Home

Quakers in Kenya: Earlham College Archives

Introduction

The Earlham College Archives is the official repository for Earlham College and the Earlham School of Religion (ESR). Anything related to the College or ESR's history is housed here. We collect items of historical interest, including photographs, documents, and artifacts, as well as records from committees, student life, departments, and offices.

A member of the Archives' staff will be happy to assist you if you wish to study one or more of these collections.

College Records on Kenya

EC V.07: Presidential Papers: Landrum R. Bolling

  • Series 1: Correspondence -- Box 11 -- Folder 21: Kenya, 1961
  • Series 1: Correspondence -- Box 15 -- Folder 7: Kenya, 1962
  • Series 1: Correspondence -- Box 15 -- Folder 8: Kenya Workcamp, summer, 1962
  • Series 1: Correspondence -- Box 19 -- Folder 5: Kenya-Project, 1963
  • Series 1: Correspondence -- Box 22 -- Folder 20: Kenya Project, 1964
  • Series 1: Correspondence -- Box 38 -- Folder 9: M.A.T. (Kenya or Japan), 1969
  • Series 1: Correspondence -- Box 44 -- Folder 9: Anderson-Earlham College Joint Kenya Program, 1973

EC XVI: Earlham Photograph Collection

  • Series 3: Subjects -- Box 13 -- Kenya, 1978
  • Series 3: Subjects -- Box 13 -- Foreign Study - Kenya, before 1984

EC XXIV.32: James Thorp Papers, 1945-2002

The collection consists of the papers of Earlham Geology professor James Thorp.   Arranged in the order it was acquired, the papers are mostly, but not necessarily, bunched into divisions corresponding to specific projects James Thorp pursued during his career as well as research conferences he attended.  Thorp conducted research on soils all across the United States and Canada, though he focused on the Middle West.  He also worked with soils overseas, most notably in Kenya and China.  Though Thorp’s research focuses on the above, his interests were broad, as seen in the various topics explored in articles taken from academic journals he set aside.  Thorp’s letters and travel information comprise most of the collection that does not deal with the above, with a few scattered documents pertaining to his time teaching.

Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095