Earlham Libraries Home: All Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: Books, Articles, Media

Books and Media

Earlham Libraries Catalog & Beyond This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: Gale Primary Sources Archives This link opens in a new window
Primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. Includes magazines, newspapers, pamphlets, and papers documenting United States and International perspectives on LGBTQ history, activism, and culture, primarily since 1940.

This collection at Earlham was made possible by an ARPA grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services, administered by the Indiana State Library.
Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window
Primary sources focusing on women's history and the feminist movements of the 19th and 20th centuries.
Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women's political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women's voices, from female-authored literature to women's periodicals.
Political Extremism and Radicalism This link opens in a new window
Primary sources from far-right and far-left political groups in the U.S., Europe, & Australia in the 20th century. Note: the collection includes text and images that may be considered offensive.
A collection of rare primary sources from fringe groups of their time from both the right and left extremes of the political spectrum. Includes propaganda still considered controversial today as well as points-of-view now considered mainstream.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area. A great starting point for any topic.
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s. Current 3-5 years usually unavailable.
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Modern Language Association's index of journals and books on literature, linguistics, language, folklore, and film.
Modern Language Association's index to international journal and books on literature, linguistics, languages, folklore, and film studies, 1926 to present.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in the humanities and social sciences.
Full text of over 1200 scholarly journals in the humanities dating back to the 1990s.

The Year's Work in Critical and Cultural Theory
Review articles on scholarly books and articles dealing with critical and cultural theory published in a given year.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Includes many documentaries, speeches, and newsreels.
Including over 40,000 films, a subject-matter taxonomy of more than 700 distinct areas of study within more than 25 core subject areas designed to mirror the academic curriculum. The high-interest content is organized into student-friendly, curated categories—including Biographies, Events in History, Great Artists, Staff Picks, Landmark Series, and more—that make videos easy to find and view.

See these browsable subjects under the major heading of "Sociology"

Women's and Gender Studies

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Lilly Library
Request a Research Appointment

765-983-1302

Subjects: African & African American Studies (AAAS), Art, History, Museum Studies, Music, Theatre Arts, Women's, Gender, Sexuality Studies