Skip to Main Content
ESR & Bethany Resources
Science & Technology Commons
Friends Collection & College Archives
Facilities & Services
Having trouble finding a topic?
Think back to what you have read in class so far. Has anything interested you? What do you want to find out more about? Look ahead in the syllabus and see if any upcoming topics pique your interest.
Do some initial background research. What are some major topics in modern East Asian history? Is there anything there you want to learn more about?
Think of topics you are already interested in. Do you like reading about public health, or LGBT+ issues, or artistic movements? Investigate some of the topics you care about in the context of the class assignment.
Check out this guide from Centre College librarians for more tips.
You will need to do background historical research for your script or film, which will include creating a full bibliography for you final submission. Find below some great places to start finding historical articles!
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), focusing on the 15th century forward. The standard history indexing tool for over 50 years, now including abstracts from more than 2,600 journals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1200 scholarly journals in the humanities dating back to the 1990s.
Tips for Reading Academic Articles
, Ancient & Classical Studies
, Comparative Languages & Linguistics (CLL)
, French & Francophone Studies
, International Studies
, Japanese Studies
, Public Policy
, Social Services
, Spanish & Hispanic Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095