Earlham Libraries Home: All Media and Communications: Reference

Reference

Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies by James Watson; Anne Hill
Publication Date: 2015

Covers the many different facets of personal, group, mass-media, and internet communication.
Encyclopedia of Sociology by Edgar F. Borgatta, Rhonda J.V. Montgomery
ISBN: 0028648536

Publication Date: 2000

Online version of the five volume, 2nd edition (2000) of Macmillan's standard encyclopedia. It provides a scholarly introduction to the field.
The Encyclopedia of Sociology is in the Ready Reference Section, or use the linked title to access the full text online.

Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online)

Books and articles in life, health, humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences.

Includes the complete texts of almost 300 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Wiley Blackwell Publishing in the Wiley Blackwell Reference Online collection. Also contains description-only citations of over 21,000 other online books, journals and articles.

Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media by John D. H. Downing (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011

Includes more than 250 essays on the varied experiences of social movement media throughout the world in the 20th and 21st centuries.
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media by Mary E. Kosut (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012

Examines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in our society.

The Year's Work in Critical and Cultural Theory
Review articles on scholarly books and articles dealing with critical and cultural theory published in a given year.

Check especially sections on Media Theory and Film Theory.

Annual Reviews

Yearly summaries of current research in the field for natural and social sciences.

Full text of annual summaries of scholarship in over three dozen academic disciplines up through 2023.

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Lilly Library
Room 215
Request a Research Appointment

765-983-1290

Subjects: ELL - English Language Learning, English, ESR-Bethany, Film Studies, German & German Studies, Human Development & Social Relations, Jewish Studies, Media and Communications, Peace & Global Studies, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Seminaries, Sociology/Anthropology