Skip to main content
Full text of annual summaries of scholarship in over three dozen academic disciplines.
Blackwell Reference Online - Politics
Contains the complete texts of encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Blackwell Publishing.
Oxford Reference Online -Politics
Contains the complete texts of Oxford University Press dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference titles.
CIA World Fact Book
Fact Books for most countries of the world are produced annually. They provide a good overview, including maps, of most of the countries in the world.
The Statesman's Yearbook
Online version of the famous yearbook that provides an overview of political, economic, and demographic information on world countries.
Reference Books and eBooks
The Encyclopedia of American Political History
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference E183 .E48
Publication Date: 2001
Thorough historical coverage beginning with the late 1700s.
Encyclopedia of Conflicts since World War II
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference D843 .E46
Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference JZ1160 .E53
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference F1401 .E56
Publication Date: 2002
Although coverage begins with the independence movements of the late 18th century, the book focuses mainly on the 20th century.
The Encyclopedia of Third Parties in America
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference JK2261 .E474
Publication Date: 2000
This three-volume encyclopedia presents the history of third parties from the Early Republic to the present. It provides extensive details of more than 115 parties and brief, informative biographies of the major players and candidates.
The Oxford Handbook of Political Science
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference JA66 .O97
Publication Date: 2009
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference JZ5533 .O95 2010
Publication Date: 2010-02-18
This innovative, multivolume encyclopedia charts the interdisciplinary field of Peace Studies, offering a comprehensive survey of the full range of historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict. All major figures are covered, as well as major events, organizations, theories, and much more.
The Penguin Atlas of War and Peace
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference G1046.R1 K47
Publication Date: 2003
This fascinating atlas takes a visual approach to explaining the state of war and peace in the beginning of the twenty-first century. Packed with expert data analysis and essential political and historical background, it covers the causes of war; the costs of war; and trends in peace, from Afghanistan to Northern Ireland to Kosovo to the Middle East; as well as topics such as international terrorism, the arms trade, and NATO and the United Nations.
Craft of Research
The Craft of Research
Publication Date: 2009
With more than 400,000 copies now in print, The Craft of Research is the unrivaled resource for researchers at every level, from first-year undergraduates to research reporters at corporations and government offices. Seasoned researchers and educators Gregory G. Colomb and Joseph M. Williams present an updated third edition of their classic handbook, whose first and second editions were written in collaboration with the late Wayne C. Booth. The Craft of Research explains how to build an argument that motivates readers to accept a claim; how to anticipate the reservations of readers and to respond to them appropriately; and how to create introductions and conclusions that answer that most demanding question, "So what?" The third edition includes an expanded discussion of the essential early stages of a research task: planning and drafting a paper. The authors have revised and fully updated their section on electronic research, emphasizing the need to distinguish between trustworthy sources (such as those found in libraries) and less reliable sources found with a quick Web search. A chapter on warrants has also been thoroughly reviewed to make this difficult subject easier for researchers Throughout, the authors have preserved the amiable tone, the reliable voice, and the sense of directness that have made this book indispensable for anyone undertaking a research project.
Subjects:2017 Fall Semester Courses
, 2017 Spring Semester Courses
, African & African American Studies (AAAS)
, Environmental Sustainabilty
, Global Management
, Human Development & Social Relations
, International Studies
, Peace & Global Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095