Skip to main content
Oxford Art Online
Contains the 34-volume reference set, The Grove Dictionary of Art, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and more.
Blackwell Reference Online - Art
Contains the complete texts of encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Blackwell Publishing.
Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center
Includes magazines, books, videos, "how-to" instructions and hobby reports. Offers creative ideas on subject areas including arts & crafts; collecting; games & electronics; model building; home & leisure; needlework; outdoors & nature; and scrapbooking & papercraft.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art
Publication Date: 2008-10-06
Deals with all aspects of materials, techniques, conservation, and restoration in both traditional and nontraditional media, including ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, works on paper, textiles, video, digital art, and more. Offers scholarly information on materials and techniques in art for anyone who studies, creates, collects, or deals in works of art.
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics - 2nd Edition
Publication Date: 2014
Expanded from the 1998 first edition, the second edition of the Encyclopedia surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society—from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory. The second edition includes increased coverage of international aesthetics, modern aesthetics, new media like computer art, and areas like neuroaesthetics that were not thoroughly covered in the first edition.
The Oxford Companion to the Photograph
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
Encapsulates in concise and readily accessible form the mass of recent scholarship on photography as a social and artistic practice, organized both thematically and geographically. There are over 800 biographical entries, both on photographers and on other individuals who have significantly influenced photographic culture from the early 19th century to the present. The book's scope is worldwide. The book is extensively illustrated and includes many pictures never before published. The majority of the 1600-plus entries include suggestions for further reading. Includes an extensive bibliography, a chronology of photographic history, a list of important websites, and an index of people.
Twentieth Century United States Photographers
Publication Date: 2008
"Each of the 75 entries includes a summary essay that incorporates biographical and career highlights along with a context for the photographer's work in photographic history. A short bibliography and a list of collections in which the work may be found are also furnished. Small black-and-white photographs accompany the entries, and a center section with select color photographs is featured. A glossary and index are provided along with a thoughtful introductory essay that reflects on the evolution of photography into its current role in modern life. . . . This book serves as an excellent introduction for those seeking a framework for understanding the development of American photography and an appreciation for some of the major contributors." - ARBA
The Oxford Companion to Western Art
Publication Date: 2001-11-22
Over 2600 entries, alphabetically arranged. Almost half of them cover artists, from classical times to the twentieth century. Other entries discuss art styles and movements, art forms (such as battle painting, landscape, caricature, or stained glass), specialist terms, and materials and techniques in all media. There is strong emphasis on location as a focus for art: not only are there regional and cultural surveys, but also entries on specific places of importance such as Paris or Urbino; and, in addition, entries on museums and galleries are arranged under the their city so that the reader can easily survey the major sites within a particular locality, such as New York, Boston, or Madrid.
The Oxford Dictionary of Art
Publication Date: 2004-06-10
Provides a careful balance of fact and critical appraisal ranging across painting, sculpture, drawing, and the applied arts. Over 3000 entries provide the reader with information on a wide range of people and subjects, including artists, critics, collectors, dealers, patrons, museums, art schools, materials, and techniques.
The Oxford Companion to the Garden
Call Number: Lilly Library Main (SB450.95 .O94 2006 )
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Devoted to gardens of every kind and the people involved in their making,The Oxford Companion to the Garden provides comprehensive coverage in 1,750 alphabetical entries detailing all aspects of the garden.
Credo Reference: Art search box
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095