Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
Overview essays on American popular culture by decade from 1900s through 2000s. For each decade includes sections on Architecture and Housing; Books and Literature; Business, Advertising, and Consumer Culture; Clothing, Fashion, and Appearance; Film; Food and Drink; Music; Performing Arts and Theater; Recreation and Leisure; Sports; Technology and Media; Television and Radio; Transportation and Travel; and Visual Arts.
Earlham Libraries Catalog & Beyond This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.
Indiana Legends by
After researching historical figures for years, visiting nearly every historic site in the state, and working with the Indiana Historical Society, journalist Nelson Price has created a vivid, detailed, and readable series of Hoosier portraits ranging from political leaders to entertainers, from sports legends to everyday folks who achieved fame or notoriety. The fourth -- and first in paperback -- edition of Indiana Legends features updated profiles of the many contemporary figures in the book, as well as new material on such varied personalities as Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning, Mother Theodore Guerin, a pioneer Catholic nun being considered for sainthood, C-SPAN founder Brian Lamb, and movie star Vivica A. Fox. Nelson's own prize-winning newspaper interviews add contemporary interest to this collection, and famous Indiana illustrations, along with the portraits and photographs from leading state collections, contribute a rich dimension to the stories.
Publication Date: 1997
Indiana University Olympians by
From track and field to swimming and diving, and of course basketball and soccer, Indiana University Olympians celebrates over a century of Indiana University Olympic competitors. Beginning in 1904, at the 3rd summer games in St. Louis, IU's first Olympic medal went to pole vaulter LeRoy Samse who earned a silver medal. In 2016, swimmer Lilly King rocketed onto the world stage with two gold medals in the 31st Summer Games in Rio de Janeiro. Featuring profiles of 49 athletes who attended IU, Indiana University Olympians includes the stories of well-known figures like Milt Campbell, the first African American to win decathlon gold and who went on to play pro football, and Mark Spitz, winner of seven swimming gold medals. The book also highlights fascinating anecdotes and the accomplishments of their less well-known colleagues, including one athlete's humble beginnings in a chicken house and another who earned a Silver Star for heroism in the Vietnam War. Despite their different lives, they share one key similarity--these remarkable athletes all called Indiana University home.
Publication Date: 2020
19 Stars of Indiana: Exceptional Hoosier Women by
The 19 outstanding contemporary Hoosier women profiled by Michael S. Maurer--one for each star in the Indiana state flag--are leaders and pioneers who have excelled in a variety of pursuits, including law, business, philanthropy, government, medicine, music, art, athletics, religion, and education. Among the inspiring life stories are those of the first woman named chief judge of the U.S. District Court in Indiana, the first to establish a Holocaust museum in the state, and the first woman elected Indiana's lieutenant governor. Maurer also introduces international golf and billiards champions, opera singers, a rabbi, the founders of Vera Bradley Designs and For Bare Feet, and others. Many of these women led heart-pounding lives. All worked hard, and with zeal, to achieve their dreams. Indiana women of every generation will enjoy and appreciate their stories. Sarah Evans Barker Mary Bolk Angela M. Brown Alecia A. DeCoudreaux Christel DeHaan Nancy Shepherd Fitzgerald Eva Mozes Kor Jeanette Lee Sylvia McNair Patricia R. Miller Nancy Noël Mercy Okanemeh Obeime Jane Blaffer Owen Ora Hirsch Pescovitz Ernestine Raclin Sharon Rivenbark Sandy Eisenberg Sasso Becky Skillman Carolyn Y. Woo
Publication Date: 2009
Indiana Political Heroes by
Politics has always played an important role in Indiana, and the state itself at one time furnished candidates for national office for an assortment of American political parties. From 1840, when Whig William Henry Harrison captured the White House with his "Tippecanoe and Tyler too" campaign, to 1940, when Wendell Willkie won the Republican presidential nomination and challenged incumbent President Franklin D. Roosevelt's try for a third term in office, approximately 60 percent of the elections had Hoosiers on a party's national ticket. Indiana Political Heroes features essays on eight Hoosier politicians who have made a difference in Indiana and in the nation's capital.
Publication Date: 2014
Indiana Originals by
Hoosier history overflows with bold visionaries, noble heroes and lovable rogues. May Wright Sewall struggled to uplift womankind and unflinchingly called for peace in a world sleepwalking toward conflict. In the guise of Abe Martin, Kin Hubbard graced the Indianapolis News's back page for twenty-six years with folksy humor. Combat photographer John A. Bushemi bravely faced the terrors of war and perished capturing its violence. Audacious automotive pioneer Carl G. Fisher went to any length to promote himself, even flying a car via a hot-air balloon. Drawing on more than thirty years of experience, author Ray E. Boomhower, the dean of Hoosier biographers, brings together forty of the most notable figures from the nineteenth state.
Publication Date: 2018
Fighting Hoosiers by
Fighting Hoosiers: Indiana in Two World Wars tells the compelling, heartbreaking, and breathtaking stories of some of the hundreds of thousands of Hoosiers who served their country during the First and Second World Wars. Drawn from the rich holdings of the Indiana Magazine of History, a journal of state and midwestern history published since 1905, the collection includes original diaries, letters and memoirs, as well as research essays--all of them focused on Hoosiers in the two world wars. Readers will meet Alex Arch, a Hungarian-born immigrant who was the first American to fire a shot in World War I; Maude Essig, a nurse serving with the American Red Cross in wartime France; Kenneth Baker, a soldier in the Army Signal Corps, who crawled across French fields (sometimes over and around dead bodies) to lay phone lines for military communications; and Bernard Rice, a combat medic who witnessed the liberation of the Dachau concentration camp in 1945. Indiana's brave men and women like these have served with distinction in the armed forces since the earliest days of the Indiana Territory. Fighting Hoosiers offers a compelling glimpse at some of their remarkable stories.
Publication Date: 2021
Hoosiers, Third Edition by
Named by The New York Times as "a knowing, respectful and caring look at heartland America" and containing a new foreword by legendary player Bob Plump, this is a book every basketball lover should own. The best of Phillip Hoose's classic writings are included here with a fresh look on Indiana's favorite and most beloved sport. A new edition of a well-known Indiana classic, Hoosiers profiles some of the world's most famous basketball players and coaches--Larry Bird, Bobby Plump, Damon Bailey, Steve Alford, Stephanie White, and Bob Knight among them--along with Indiana towns, schools, and programs. The ultimate book for the diehard fan, Hoosiers: The Fabulous Basketball Life of Indiana explores Hoosier hysteria in all its glory.
Publication Date: 2016
Hoosier Philanthropy by
The first in-depth history of philanthropy in Indiana. Philanthropy has been central to the development of public life in Indiana over the past two centuries. Hoosier Philanthropy explores the role of philanthropy in the Hoosier state, showing how voluntary action within Indiana has created and supported multiple visions of societal good. Featuring 15 articles, Hoosier Philanthropy charts the influence of different types of nonprofit Hoosier organizations and people, including foundations, service providers, volunteers, and individual donors.
Publication Date: 2022
Magazine and Journal Articles
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Indianapolis Star archive (via US Midwest Newsstream) This link opens in a new window
Coverage dates: May 21, 1991 - present.
Scroll down the linked page to access a search box for the Indianapolis Star archive or to browse a particular issue date.
Richmond Palladium-Item archive (via US Midwest Newsstream) This link opens in a new window
Coverage dates: November 7, 1999 - present.
Scroll down the linked page to access a search box for the Richmond Palladium-Item archive or to browse a particular issue date.
New York Times (Historical Newspaper Archive) This link opens in a new window
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1851 up to the past three years and includes the New York Times Book Review and the New York Times Magazine.
Hoosier State Chronicles This link opens in a new window
Hoosier State Chronicles is operated by the Indiana State Library and funded by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act. We seek to provide free, online access to high quality digital images of Indiana's historic newspapers by digitizing our collection, and assisting other organizations in making their collections digitally available.
Indiana Memory This link opens in a new window
Images and Documents from Indiana Archives
Peer review vs popular sources
Peer review vs popular sources
Magazines, journals, scholarly, popular, peer-reviewed...?? If you've ever run across any or a combination of these terms and needed clarification on their distinct meanings, this page aims to provide it.
Journal of African American History
New York Times
Primary account of original research; In-depth analyses of issues in the field; Articles often include abstract, method, discussion, tables, conclusion, and references
Current news, trends, or products in an industry or professional organization; Statistics, forecasts, employment and career information
Current events and news; General information with purpose to entertain or inform; Analyses of popular culture; Secondary account of someone else's research that may include opinion
Current events and news that may be local, regional, national or international; Ads, editorials, speeches; Primary source for information on events
Academic, technical jargon that uses the language of the discipline; Requires some relevant expertise
Specialized jargon or terminology of the field; Written for practitioners/professionals
Easily understandable, non-technical language; Written for the layperson
Written for a general audience; Understandable language
Researchers, scholars, professors, etc.
Practitioners in the field, industry professionals, or journalists with subject expertise
Journalists or staff writers
Journalists or staff writers
References, footnotes or bibliographies are always included
References in text or short bibliographies are occasionally included
References are rarely included
Rarely cite sources in full
Journal's editorial board, or if peer-reviewed, external scholars in the same field
Universities, scholarly presses, or academic organizations
Commercial publishers or trade and professional organizations
Academic Search Premier, JSTOR
Academic Search Premier, Time & Jet archives
Historical New York Times, Academic Search Complete
Peer-reviewed journal articles vs. scholarly journal articles
Not all scholarly journal articles are peer-reviewed. However, all peer-reviewed articles (aka refereed articles) are scholarly.
What is peer-review?
Peer-review refers to the rigorous process that articles undergo before they may be published. Other scholars in the author's field or discipline review and evaluate the article for quality and validity. If lacking, the article may be rejected, but otherwise, the article is accepted, often with suggestions for revision.
Adapted from a guide created by Dana Thomas - Murray State Universities Library
New presentation apps and resources are being created all the time, but this list includes some of the more popular current ones that you can use to make your presentation memorable.
This site is for educators.
A cloud-based tool very similar to PowerPoint.
Another option for slide presentations.
For online magazines and publications.
For iOS, it lets you create presentation using your fingers.
A web-based resource that lets you design presentations with zoom.
Lets you upload and share your PowerPoint slideshows, images and other presentations. A great source of inspiration, too.
Make infographics or slides
During your presentation, use one or more of these tools to engage your audience.
This animated stopwatch can be embedded in a PowerPoint presentation. There are other sites that offer similar features, so shop around.
This is a fun element to add to your PowerPoint presentation.
This tool lets you poll participants using smartphones. Use it during your presentation to take the pulse of your audience. It's a great way to open a presentation by asking participants what they know about your topic. Close the presentation with a poll asking for feedback.
How to Give Good Talks
How to Give a Killer Presentation
This article from Harvard Business Review tells the story of how a shy young Masai boy gave an awesome presentation to an audience of 1,400. Notice that "preparation" is the key. When you're prepared, your confidence increases, and you can knock 'em dead!
How to Give the Best Presentation You Possibly Can
Karl Gude is an instructor at Michigan State University and a former InfoGraphics Director at Newsweek and The Associated Press. He talks about the preparation needed to give an awesome presentation in this article published in the Huffington Post.
Nancy Duarte: How to Make a Powerful Call-to-Action
Nancy Duarte's TEDTalk helps you deliver a presentation that shares your idea in a way that moves and transforms your audience.
9 Public-Speaking Lessons From The World's Greatest TED Talks
This Forbes story is part of a series of articles based on Carmine Gallo's book, "Talk Like TED: The 9 Public-Speaking Secrets of the World’s Top Minds" (St. Martin’s Press).
Many thanks to College of Coastal Georgia for allowing us to use the guide, Presentations, as a template for this LibGuide.
Writing & Citing Help