Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Information on DVDs in the Library Collection
All DVDs and other streaming videos provided by Earlham are searchable through the library catalog.
The Lilly Library DVD collection is designed to support the curriculum of the College. Priority is given to course-related use, and checked out items may be recalled if they are needed for reserves or to be used in class.
These pages provide information about the following topics related to our DVD collection:
Other information about the DVD collection
- The DVD collection is on display in the northwest corner of the main floor of Lilly. When you find the case of a DVD you'd like to see, bring the case to the Circulation Desk for check out.
- DVDs circulate to Earlham Students, Faculty, and Staff for 14 days.
- Community members must use DVDs in the library; they may only be checked out for 4 hours at a time.
For more information on Circulation policies relating to media, please see the Circulation page.
For information relating to AV equipment, please see the AV equipment page.
Databases for streaming video:
Theatre in Video
Theatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world‘s leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
Films on Demand
Including over 40,000 films, a subject-matter taxonomy of more than 700 distinct areas of study within more than 25 core subject areas designed to mirror the academic curriculum. The high-interest content is organized into student-friendly, curated categories—including Biographies, Events in History, Great Artists, Staff Picks, Landmark Series, and more—that make videos easy to find and view.
Qwest TV EDU
Founded by Quincy Jones, Qwest TV contains a catalog of 1,300+ hand-selected concerts, interviews, archival gems, and documentaries that allows users to enter a world of curated musical excellence spanning jazz, soul, funk, blues, hip-hop, global sounds, electronic and classical.
Databases that include streaming video:
History Reference Center
The database features full text for more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers; more than 150 leading history periodicals; nearly 57,000 historical documents; more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 37,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Links to open source providers of streaming video (may not be exclusively video content):
Internet Archive - Moving Images
Internet Archive's Moving Images Archive. Content ranges from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts, many of which are available for free download.
Pay per view streaming services:
Kanopy Streaming Video PDA Collection
A collection of over 30,000 documentary and feature films from a variety of vendors that is added to on a monthly basis.
The Patron Driving Acquisition (PDA) program provides huge value for libraries by opening up access to the entire Kanopy library to Earlham users. All films are made accessible through the library catalog. Films that are viewed 4 separate times for 30 seconds or more over a 12 month period are triggered for purchase, at a cost of up to $150 per film for 1 year of access. Films that are watched less than 4 times may be freely accessed. Earlham has a limited budget for media; once this money is spent access will be shut down for any films that have not been purchased.
Swank licenses thousands of films to college campuses and others. Focusing mainly on feature films, they provide access to many of the major studios, including Paramount, Sony, Dreamworks, Disney, Lionsgate, MGM, and Warner Brothers. Films currently licensed through Swank for classroom use will display at the link provided.
Films are $110 to license for one semester. Earlham has a limited budget for media; once that budget is exhausted we will be unable to make additional purchases.
Please note that at this time Safari is not a supported browser for Swank. If you are having issues viewing Swank content please try a different browser to see if that resolves your problem.
Databases for streaming audio:
Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection
More than three hundred important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation’s premiere radio theatre company. The plays - which include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries - are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening.
Naxos Music Library
Over 100,000 CDs, equivalent to over 1.5 million tracks, available for streaming, Each month over 800 new CDs are added. Includes music notes, cover artwork, tracklist, instrumentation and publisher information. Advanced search enables search by 10 different categories, including playing time, year of composition, label, instrument and category. Limited to five simultaneous users -- log out when finished.
Naxos Spoken Word Library
Thousands of streaming CDs of audio books and spoken word. Includes modern and classic fiction, radio plays, poetry, theater, and more.
Links to open source providers of streaming audio (may not be exclusively audio content):
Internet Archive - Audio
This library contains recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by our users. Many of these audios and MP3s are available for free download.
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095