Earlham Libraries Home: POLS 339: Approaching Political Puzzles: Journal Articles

Articles

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Full text of annual summaries of scholarship in over three dozen academic disciplines.

While Annual Reviews (in Economics, Political Science, Sociology, etc.) are not scholarly themselves since they do not make any argument, they are a great way to get a readable sense of the scholarly conversation and the scholars who are contributing.
Full text of annual summaries of scholarship in over three dozen academic disciplines up through 2023.

General Purpose Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area. A great starting point for any topic.
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources in a wide variety of disciplines.
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.

Discipline-focused Databases

Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles in the social sciences.
Provides sources covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more. Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text resource provides access to the most important English-language social science journals.
ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
Starting point for education research, from preschool to college. Journal articles, books, curriculum guides, and more. 1966-present.
Indexes and abstracts articles, books, theses, conference proceedings, and unpublished papers in education, 1966 to present.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles related to environmental issues. Limited full text.
Indexes and abstracts periodicals dealing with environmental topics, with limited full text. Coverage varies widely by individual periodical title.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Health information aimed at consumers. Great for finding quick and easy-to-read medical information.
A collection of full-text consumer health information taken from magazines, reference books, and pamphlets.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Indexes periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government, and includes several peace studies journals.

Citation Searching

Google Scholar
Add Earlham College under "Library Links" (within Settings) to access content within library database subscriptions. Google Scholar can also be used for citation searching - look for the "Cited By" link beneath the description of the article/item.

Julia Muse

she/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Lilly Library
Room 218
Request a Research Appointment

Subjects: Accounting, Ancient & Classical Studies, Business, Comparative Languages & Linguistics (CLL), French & Francophone Studies, International Studies, Japanese Studies, Politics, Public Policy, Social Services, Spanish & Hispanic Studies