Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The official site.
United Nations Bibliographic Information System (UNBISnet)
In three sections UNBISnet provides access to (1) UN publications, (2) votes in the General Assembly and Security Council, and (3) speeches given at the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, and the Trusteeship Council.
United Nations Development Programme
"UNDP is the UN's global development network, an organization advocating for change and connecting countries to knowledge, experience and resources to help people build a better life."
United Nation Environment Programme
"To provide leadership and encourage partnership in caring for the environment by inspiring, informing, and enabling nations and peoples to improve their quality of life without compromising that of future generations."
United Nations Human Rights Council
"The Human Rights Council is an inter-governmental body within the UN system made up of 47 States responsible for strengthening the promotion and protection of human rights around the globe."
United Nations Peacekeeping
"United Nations peacekeeping is a unique and dynamic instrument developed by the Organization as a way to help countries torn by conflict create the conditions for lasting peace."
United Nations Security Council
"The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security."
International Atomic Energy Agency
"The IAEA is the world's center of cooperation in the nuclear field. It was set up as the world's 'Atoms for Peace' organization in 1957 within the United Nations family." Their "Data Centre" and "Publications" sections are excellent sources of detailed information.
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements. 3rd edition. 4 vols. 2003
Ref JX 1977 .O8213 2003
The best place to start the study of the United Nations. The encyclopedia has brief identification articles as well as lengthy articles on concepts, issues and events.
Great Debates at the United Nations; An Encyclopedia of Fifty Key Issues, 1945-2000
Ref JX 1977 .G676 2001Discusses fifty specific debates in the UN over the time period. For example, 1946 - "Soviet Invasion of Afghanistan," 1998 - "Kosovo Situation" is the latest included so there is nothing on Iraq wars.
Basic Facts about the United Nations
Ref JX 1977 .A37 B37 1995
Contains descriptions of the role of the UN and related agencies, with some useful appendices, such as a list of member countries.
Chronology and Fact Book of the United Nations, 1941-1991
Ref JX 1977 .H64 1992.Consists of three main sections: (1) chronology of major events associated with the UN, (2) tables of information about UN organizations, and (3) texts of the charter, rules, and procedures.
Yearbook of the United Nations. - Latest year is 2005.
Ref JX 1977.A37 Y4
Annual survey of UN activity. Provides detailed summaries of activities in the various organs and related agencies of the UN. Includes major sections on particular global issues. Very well indexed.
Annual Review of United Nations Affairs. Latest year is 2006-07.
Ref JX 1977 .A1 A5
Contains detailed summaries of the activities of the UN each year, organized by UN organ. No indexes; use the table of contents.
Global Agenda: Issues before the General Assembly of the United Nations. Ceased publication in 2005.
Ref JX 1977 .A1 U525
Detailed summaries of the issues the UN is addressing, published by the UN Association of the Central States. Summaries are grouped under broad headings: peace making and keeping, arms control, academic development, global resource
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095