The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Pulls articles from a wide range of encyclopedias and dictionaries written by subject experts.
A Dictionary of Environmental History by
Whyte's A Dictionary of Environmental History provides in a single volume a comprehensive reference work covering the past 12,000 years of the Earth's environmental history. An introduction to the discipline is followed by almost 1,000 entries covering key terminology, events, places, dates, topics, as well as the major personalities in the history of the discipline. Entries range from shorter factual accounts to substantial mini-essays on key topics and issues. Fully cross-referenced with an extensive bibliography, this pioneering work provides an authoritative yet accessible resource that will form essential reading for academics, practitioners and students of environmental history and related disciplines.
Dictionary of Environment and Ecology by
This dictionary has been revised to include the definitions of over 7,000 terms from all aspects of ecology and environmental fields, including climate, pollution, waste disposal and energy conservation. 'An essential addition to the reference shelves of anyone with a professional or personal interest in green issues...a handy reference point with which to touch up the gaps in your eco-literacy.' - "Organic Gardening"
Conservation and Environmentalism by
"Focusing on problems and solutions, this authoritative reference work covers all aspects of the environment, from the Everglades to the Himalayas, from legislation in Australia to pollution problems in Eastern Europe, from tropical rain forests to the Porcupine Caribou herd of the Alaskan and Canadian Arctic." "Some of the best-known environmental professionals from 14 countries around the world have written original articles for this multidisciplinary Encyclopedia, including Norman Myers, Eugene C. Hargrove, Reed F. Noss, Max Oelschlaeger, J. Baird Callicott, George Sessions, M. S. Swaminathan, Gilbert F. White, Michael E. Kraft, Michael P. Cohen, Paul Ekins, and many others."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity by
First used in 1980, "biodiversity" often describes the abundance, variety, and genetic constitution of native animals and plants, and has been linked with politics and environmental technology. Although the 1986 National forum on biodiversity brought issues of biodiversity to the fore, the inescapable need to know more about the diversity of life on Earth continues to remain unmet. In recent years, biodiversity has influenced important scientific considerations, international agreements, conventions, conservation initiatives, political debates, and socio-economic implications. Knowledge derived from the study of biodiversity will affect the quality of life enjoyed in the future by influencing decision-making processes and aiding new discoveries. The science of biodiversity has become the science of our future. Our awareness of the loss of biodiversity has brought a long overdue appreciation of the magnitude of our loss and a determination to develop the tools to protect our future. The Encyclopedia of Biodiversity brings together, for the first time, a study of the dimensions of diversity. It examination of the services biodiversity provides, and measures to protect it. Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity. Key Features NEW e-updates to this 5-Volume Set on ScienceDirect! Updates include 21 entirely new articles, 22 updated articles, with 335 articles in total! (more) This reference is also sold as an e-book via ScienceDirect. * Distinguished Editorial Board headed by Simon A. Levin, with many other prominent scientists serving as editors * More than 300 separate articles, covering 20 different subject areas, from Evolution to Habitats to Economic Issues--all original contributions commissioned for this work * Articles by leading authors from major institutions of science around the world * Approximately 1,000 figures and tables complement the text * More than 3,000 glossary entries explain key terms
Encyclopedia of Disasters by
Provides an accessible introduction to the most important disasters - both natural and human caused - throughout human history
The Encyclopedia of Ecotourism by
''The Encylopedia of Ecotourism'' provides an expert and comprehensive knowledge base of the rapidly growing global ecotourism sector. It is divided into eight major sections, and contains 41 chapters, individually authored by international researchers and practitioners in ecotourism.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy by 
Encyclopedia of Environmental Health by
Encyclopedia of Environmental Health, Second Edition, Six Volume Set presents the newest release in this fundamental reference that updates and broadens the umbrella of environmental health, especially social and environmental health for its readers. There is ongoing revolution in governance, policies and intervention strategies aimed at evolving changes in health disparities, disease burden, trans-boundary transport and health hazards. This new edition reflects these realities, mapping new directions in the field that include how to minimize threats and develop new scientific paradigms that address emerging local, national and global environmental concerns. Represents a one-stop resource for scientifically reliable information on environmental health Fills a critical gap, with information on one of the most rapidly growing scientific fields of our time Provides comparative approaches to environmental health practice and research in different countries and regions of the world Covers issues behind specific questions and describes the best available scientific methods for environmental risk assessment
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues by
This encyclopaedia assembles information from fields of knowledge relevant to the study of environmental issues such as biology, geology, anthropology, demographics, genetics, and engineering. It explains their interrelationships in simple terms for non-specialists.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Pollution and Cleanup by
A concise up-to-date guide to all aspects of environmental pollution and cleanup.<br /> Human invention and innovation have brought about tremendous improvements in the quality of life of millions of people around the world today-but progress has its price. Environmental pollution is rapidly attacking the Earth′s ecosphere. While advances have been made and new disciplines have emerged to identify, monitor, regulate, and compensate for environmental pollutants, it will take the combined efforts of numerous specialists to solve the problem. It will also take the efforts of an informed public that, through its voting and buying habits, has the power to determine whether or not the threat to our environment can be contained.<br /> This 2-volume encyclopedia provides all readers, regardless of scientific background or training, with a working knowledge of contemporary issues in environmental pollution and cleanup. Based on Wiley′s critically acclaimed, 8-volume Encyclopedia of Environmental Analysis and Remediation, this compact A-to-Z reference features the same breadth and quality of coverage-and clarity of presentation-found in the original. It includes:<br /> ∗ Over 200 self-contained, thoroughly cross-referenced articles on essential aspects of environmental pollution and cleanup.<br /> ∗ Coverage of key topics in hazardous waste, air pollution control, biosphere pollution, health effects, nuclear waste, environmental law and regulation, water reclamation, and more.<br /> ∗ Integrated coverage of both legal and policy issues and technological and environmental concerns.<br /> ∗ Hundreds of photographs, figures, charts, and tables that help illustrate major points, explain difficult material, and summarize important data.<br /> ∗ Bibliographic entries keyed to the text that list sources of additional information on selected topics.<br /> This book is an ideal reference for high school and college students and a convenient resource for scientists, environmental consultants, and anyone who needs clear, reliable, up-to-date information on environmental pollution and cleanup.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Studies by
Praise for the previous edition: ...a readable, informative source...highly recommended for public and undergraduate libraries..., Choice an up-to date dictionary...useful to activists, students, and others who need clear definitions...for terms in environmental literature..., Booklist ...a very useful source of basic explanations of terms related to one of today's very hot topics. , Wilson Library Bulletin ...a major contribution to helping the diverse constituency of environmentalism speak the same language. , American Reference Books Annual Written by two experts in the field
Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change by
The Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change is the first major reference work in this multi-disciplinary field, and presents...<br /> ∗ Outstanding authorship and high quality editing<br /> ∗ Comprehensive coverage with over 3,800 pages in 5 volumes<br /> ∗ Over 500 articles, 100 biographies, 150 definitions and 100 acronyms<br /> ∗ Extensive bibliographies with up-to-date references<br /> ABOUT THE ENCYCLOPEDIA<br /> <br /> The Wiley Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change has been published to meet the need for a comprehensive integrated reference in this burgeoning field. It consists of five volumes of inter-related material:<br /> <br /> Volume 1: The Earth System: Physical and Chemical Dimensions of Global Environmental Change<br /> <br /> Volume 2: The Earth System: Biological and Ecological Dimensions of Global Environmental Change<br /> <br /> Volume 3: Causes and Consequences of Global Environmental Change<br /> <br /> Volume 4: Responding to Global Environmental Change<br /> <br /> Volume 5: Social and Economic Dimensions of Global Environmental Change<br /> ∗ Each volume contains articles of between 1,000 and 10,000 words on major topics<br /> ∗ Articles contain an abstract written for the non-specialist, followed by the main text which provides greater detail for the specialist<br /> ∗ Biographies of distinguished environmental scientists discuss their contributions to a better understanding of global environmental change<br /> ∗ Definitions of international terms and descriptions of acronyms of international and regional programs and agencies provide a quick reference source for the environmental scientist and student<br /> ∗ Presents a thematic approach and includes theory, empirical studies and applications emphasising the inter-relationship between various disciplines and systems
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change by
"The impact of global warming is rapidly evolving. This valuable resource provides an excellent historical overview and framework of this topic and serves as a general resource for geography, oceanography, biology, climatology, history, and many other subjects. A useful reference for a wide audience of business professionals and government officials as well as for the general public; essential for both academic and public libraries." --Library Journal "This is a useful set because of the individual country entries as well as the general-audience language . . ." -- Booklist (Starred Review) The Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change helps readers learn about the astonishingly intricate processes that make ours the only planet known to be habitable. These three volumes include more than 750 articles that explore major topics related to global warming and climate change--ranging geographically from the North Pole to the South Pole, and thematically from social effects to scientific causes. Key Features Contains a 4-color, 16-page insert that is a comprehensive introduction to the complexities of global warming Includes coverage of the science and history of climate change, the polarizing controversies over climate-change theories, the role of societies, the industrial and economic factors, and the sociological aspects of climate change Emphasizes the importance of the effects, responsibilities, and ethics of climate change Presents contributions from leading scholars and institutional experts in the geosciences Serves as a general resource for geography, oceanography, biology, climatology, history, and many other subjects The Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change provides a primarily nonscientific resource to understanding the complexities of climate change for academic and public libraries. READER'S GUIDE Atmospheric Sciences Climate climate and Society Climate Change, Effects Climate Feedbacks Climate Models Countries: Africa Countries: Americas Countries: Asia Countries: Europe Countries: Pacific Glaciology Government and International Agencies Institutions Studying Climate Change Oceanography Paleo-Climates People Programs And Conventions
Encyclopedia of Theoretical Ecology by
This major reference is an overview of the current state of theoretical ecology through a series of topical entries centered on both ecological and statistical themes. Coverage ranges across scales--from the physiological, to populations, landscapes, and ecosystems. Entries provide an introduction to broad fields such as Applied Ecology, Behavioral Ecology, Computational Ecology, Ecosystem Ecology, Epidemiology and Epidemic Modeling, Population Ecology, Spatial Ecology and Statistics in Ecology. Others provide greater specificity and depth, including discussions on the Allee effect, ordinary differential equations, and ecosystem services. Descriptions of modern statistical and modeling approaches and how they contributed to advances in theoretical ecology are also included. Succinct, uncompromising, and authoritative--a "must have" for those interested in the use of theory in the ecological sciences.
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History by
While the relationship between man and nature has been a constant feature of the human situation, the human impact on the environment has only recently become a topic of general interest to students, as well as to scholars and professionals in disciplines across the board. This three-volume set, written by a team of international experts, provides not only broad historical coverage on how human beliefs and actions have altered the natural world, but also covers the latest developments in the field. An analysis of natural phenomena and events and their impact on human societies is also included. For a full list of entries, contributors, and more, visit the Encyclopedia of World Environmental History website. Also includes 20 maps.
Environmental Encyclopedia by
Consisting of nearly 1,300 signed articles and term definitions, the 3rd edition of the award-winning "Environmental Encyclopedia provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis and suggests solutions whenever possible.
Indigenous Peoples and Environmental Issues by
From Argentina to Zimbabwe, the industrialized world's encroachment on native lands has brought disastrous environmental harm to indigenous peoples. More than 170 native peoples around the world are facing life-and-death struggles to maintain environments threatened by oil spills, explosions, toxic chemicals, global warming, and other pollutants. This unique resource surveys those indigenous peoples and the environmental hazards that threaten their existence, providing a wealth of information not readily available elsewhere. Arranged geographically, each entry focuses on the peoples of a particular country and the environmental issues they face, from the global warming and toxic chemicals threatening the Arctic Inuits, to the logging that is devastating indigenous habitats in Borneo. General entries overview such topics as climate change, dam sites, and Native American Concepts of Ecology. The 'Guide to Related Topics' and index provide access to recurring themes such as deforestation, hydroelectric power, mining, and land tenure.
International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics* by
Why care about the environment? Is the earth's climate really changing for the worse? What are CFCs exactly? And who or what is the WTO? What are the causes of environmental problems? Who are the main actors, and what are the main ideas and issues in international environmental politics? Which countries have the best/worst environmental record and policies? The International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics is the essential reference source to enable all those with an interest in the politics of the environment - particularly students and academics working within political science - to answer these questions, and to explore many other related topics in international environmental politics. It will be welcomed as an essential teaching resource and a trusty companion to independent study. Written by a team of international experts, the Encyclopedia is vital for fact-checking, provides authoritative initial orientation to a particular topic or issue and will serve as a solid starting point for wider explanation. With over 300 fully cross-referenced entries, many of which are followed with suggestions for further reading, the Encyclopedia includes: * Country and regional entries, with country entries giving a concise overview of the history, main actors, issues and policies related to its environmental politics * Normative and ethical dimensions of environmental politics, from animal rights, social and global justice to deep ecology * Environmental movements, organizations, struggles and actors from local to international levels * Issues in international environmental politics such as global warming, biodiversity, trade and the environment * Prominent individuals (historical and current) who have inspired or been actively involved in international environmental politics - such as Mahatma Gandhi, Petra Kelly, Vandana Shiva and Aldo Leopold * Central topics and issues in environmental politics - such as global warming, globalization, wildlife preservation, eco-taxes, energy production and consumption, sustainable development and the World Trade Organisation
The Oxford Companion to the Earth by
Here is a wealth of information on planet Earth, ranging from the heights of the ionsphere down to the red-hot molten core. Written by some 200 expert contributors, and illustrated with over 600 pictures, including 16 pages of color plates, The Oxford Companion to the Earth offers 900 alphabetically arranged entries that cover everything from deserts and wetlands to mountains, caves, glaciers, and coral reefs. There are articles on natural phenomena such as tornadoes and tsunamis, volcanoes and earthquakes, jet streams and weather fronts; on the history of Earth, including the origin of life, Burgess Shale fauna, dinosaurs, and the Ice Ages; on key figures, such as Agassiz, Cuvier, Darwin, and Lamarck; and on such important ecological concerns as acid rain, the ozone layer, industrial waste disposal, and the greenhouse effect. The Companion also examines the great sources of wealth to be found in the Earth, from coal and oil to gold, silver, and diamonds, and many curious land formations, from sinkholes and fiords to yardangs and quicksand. There are brief entries on rock types, from amber to travertine, and extensive essays on cutting-edge aspects of the earth sciences, such as seismology and marine geology. The Companion includes extensive cross-references, suggested further reading, an index, and many useful appendices, with a geological timescale, facts and figures about the Earth, and a table of chemical elements. The Oxford Companion to the Earth is a unique reference work, offering unrivaled coverage of our home planet. Generously illustrated and vividly written, it is a treasure house of information for all lovers of natural history, geology, and ecology, whether professional or amateur.
The a to Z of the Green Movement by
Human beings have been concerned about nature and their place in it for millennia. Disquiet about the consequences of human action on the natural environment date back to the ancient Greeks and Romans. The efforts of the green movement can be traced back to the 19th century. In this period, individuals, groups, and organizations began campaigning for the conservation and preservation of natural areas and the protection of wildlife species. Efforts to combat pollution also began. It was not until the 1960s, however, that the green movement in its more modern incarnation emerged. The green movements that arose at this time maintained the concerns with conservation, preservation, and industrial pollution held by earlier generations, but added to their agenda new issues, including justice, equality, participatory democracy, and sustainability. The A to Z of the Green Movement provides a detailed and comprehensive overview of green parties and movements, green issues, and green concepts. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on countries in the world where green parties or proto-parties have formed, green movement organizations, major international environmental conferences, and green concepts. This useful reference will be greatly valued by students, academics, journalists, and policymakers alike.
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095
