Earlham Libraries Home: BIO 341: Cell Physiology: Find Journal Articles

Databases with Fulltext

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Scholarly review articles for the sciences and other fields. Some full text access or in library in print.
Full text of annual summaries of scholarship in over three dozen academic disciplines up through 2023.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s. Ecology is well-represented. Not current: coverage stops 3-5 years from the present.
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
Full text of journals from scholarly science societies. Covering primarily vertebrate and invertebrate biology from 2000 to present.
Full text of over 50 journals from scholarly science societies: with an emphasis on vertebrate and invertebrate biology, ecology, and the environment. Coverage from 2000 to the present.

PLoS Collections
PLoS mission is to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication. Everything published that we publish is open-access - freely available online for anyone to use.

General Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Major journals from all science disciplines. Access to full text or in print in Earlham's collection.
Indexes periodicals on astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, math, medicine, and physics, 1983 to present. Earlham subscribes to almost all of the content, either as online full text or as print.

Major Databases

Other Search Engines

Google Scholar
Add Earlham College under "Library Links" (within Settings) to access content within library database subscriptions. Google Scholar can also be used for citation searching - look for the "Cited By" link beneath the description of the article/item.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area. A great starting point for any topic.
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free-to-access scholarship on biomedical and life sciences from the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

National Agricultural Library (AGRICOLA)
The NAL database (AGRICOLA) provides citations to agricultural literature. Earlham currently doesn't have access to this database but has some access to some of the journals in this database.

About Databases

Comparing databases
The following PDF provides a quick review of the different databases you will use. There are also some basic statistics about doing different searches.

The following PDF provides a quick review of the different databases you will use. There are also some basic statistics about doing different searches.