Earlham Libraries Home: All Museum Studies: Articles

Article Databases

BMUSE
An international bibliography of museological literature.
Provided by Canadian Heritage Society.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Try limiting to the History, Art & Art History, and Education categories
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area. A great starting point for any topic.
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, and images on the subjects of art, architecture, photography, and the decorative arts.
Full-text coverage of more than 370 periodicals and more than 220 books dating from the present to 1937. Includes a collection of over 63,000 images.
ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
Starting point for education research, from preschool to college. Journal articles, books, curriculum guides, and more. 1966-present.
Indexes and abstracts articles, books, theses, conference proceedings, and unpublished papers in education, 1966 to present.
General Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Especially helpful for research on science museums and specimens.
Indexes periodicals on astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, math, medicine, and physics, 1983 to present. Earlham subscribes to almost all of the content, either as online full text or as print.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly articles covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada). Focuses on the 15th century forward. Allows for searching by historical time period.
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), focusing on the 15th century forward. The standard history indexing tool for over 50 years, now including abstracts from more than 2,600 journals.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly articles about historical topics within the United States and Canada. Allows for searching by historical time period.
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from pre-history to the present. Indexes over 1,700 journals dating back as far as 1910. Allows for searching by historical time period, a major advantage given the extensive range of its coverage.

Finding Known Articles

Finding articles from BMUSE and other citations

Determine if the source is a book or an article in a journal. Some clues:
- Does it have volume and/or issue numbers? Does the date include a month? Then it's most likely from a journal.
- Is a publisher and/or place of publication included in the citation? Then it is probably from a book.
Check to see if we have local access to the item or can obtain through interlibrary loan.
- Book: Search WorldCat . It will tell you if Earlham or any other libraries own the item.
- Journals: Search "Find It @ Earlham Libraries" It can determine if we have access to a journal.
What if we don't own it? Request it from another through interlibrary loan. Log into ILL to create the request or use the Interlibrary Loan links in WorldCat and article databases. Interlibrary Loan is free for students!

Government Pulications

Catalog of Government Publications - CGP
Search all types of Government Publications, including those regarding museums. Includes operating reports for many US government sponsored museums and other general publications.

Select Individual Journal Titles

The Journal of Museum Education
Open Access
Publication Date: 2006-present
Published three times a year.
Museum International
Open Access
1948-2011
Getty Research Journal
2009-Current
All issues available in JSTOR- no embargo
Museum & Society
2003-current
Museum Anthropology Review
Open Access
2007-current
Museums Journal
Trade journal published by the UK based Museums Association
University Museums and Collections
2008-2012
Citation Only Sources
Earlham does not subscribe to these titles but you can search the article title and abstract and then request the articles you want through Interlibrary Loan
Curator: The Museum Journal
1958-current
Request through Interlibrary Loan
Museum Management and Curatorship
1982-Current
Use Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan