Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Sources and Web Sites
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online)
Contains the complete texts of nearly 300 Blackwell Publishing reference books arranged by subject. Literature examples include Feminist Companion to Shakespeare, Companion to the Victorian Novel, and Companion to Eighteenth-Century Poetry.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas by
Publication Date: 2004
A survey of the history of Western thought and culture that explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others. Experts from various disciplines examine major developments in intellectual history during the past 30 years reflecting all aspects of knowledge from a global and gender-inclusive perspective, allowing readers to trace ideas and concepts across culture and time periods.
Oxford Art Online
Contains the 34-volume reference set, The Grove Dictionary of Art, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and more.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature by
Publication Date: 2006
Covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. In five hundred substantial essays written by major scholars, the Encyclopedia of British Literature includes biographies of nearly four hundred individual authors and a hundred topical essays with detailed analyses of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant.
Oxford Reference Online
Contains the complete texts of over 100 Oxford University Press dictionaries and reference titles, including 16 titles in literature.
The Year's Work in English Studies
Review articles of scholarly books and articles dealing with English-language literature published in a given year.
Poetry Web Sites
Glossary of Poetry Terms
An A-Z glossary with hyperlinks provided by the Poetry Foundation.
The Poetry Foundation
The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience.
The Poetry Archive is a free, online collection of recordings of poets reading their work.
Created by the Academy of American Poets, Poets.org contains thousands of poems as well as hundreds of poet biographies, essays, interviews, and poetry recordings—with new material being added constantly. Also available are resources such as the National Poetry Map, a national events calendar, and poetry lesson plans for teachers.
Poetry Center Digital Archive
An expansive collection of audio recordings by 20th century poets. This open-access resource is sponsored by San Francisco State University and the National Endowment for the Arts.
Beowulf: A New Translation for Oral Delivery
This site features the 2005 translation by Dick Ringler of Beowulf which intends to emphasize a stricter imitation of the meter of the original Old English text. Includes the print and audio of the full text.
First World War Poetry Digital Archive
A source for primary materials and supporting information for the study of major British poets who fought during WWI, including: poems, manuscripts, diaries, letters, thousands of images, and streaming audio and video.
Subjects: Ancient & Classical Studies
, Comparative Languages & Linguistics (CLL)
, ELL - English Language Learning
, Film Studies
, French & Francophone Studies
, German & German Studies
, Human Development & Social Relations
, International Studies
, Jewish Studies
, Peace & Global Studies
, Spanish & Hispanic Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095