Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A Companion to Japanese History by
Publication Date: 2007
A Companion to Japanese History provides an authoritative overview of current debates and approaches within the study of Japan's history.
The Handbook of Japanese Linguistics by
Publication Date: 2002
This Handbook brings together major aspects of Japaneselinguistics, presenting overviews, current concerns and futuredirections of each topic. The areas included are phonology, syntax,semantics, morphology, language acquisition, sentence processing,pragmatics, and sociolinguistics.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia by
Publication Date: 2002
Presents more than 2,600 entries covering such subjects as countries, cities, regions, natural features, religions, social issues, languages, people, events, customs, politics, and economics.
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan by
Publication Date: 1983
This nine-volume reference contains over 10,000 articles exploring every aspect of Japanese society, history, politics, economy, thought and culture. The 50,000-item index is cross-referenced for easy location of facts.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture by
Publication Date: 2001
Offering extensive coverage, this Encyclopedia is a new reference that reflects the vibrant, diverse and evolving culture of modern Japan, spanning from the end of the Japanese Imperialist period in 1945 to the present day.
Institutes and Organizations
Miscellaneous Web Sites
Visualizing Cultures -- Image-Driven Scholarship
Images and visual narrative accompany scholarly essays on such topics as "Black Ships and Samurai", "Yokohama Boomtown", and collections of woodblock prints and images of tourism.
CiNii Scholarly and Academic Navigator
A database of over 12 million academic articles, mainly in Japanese, included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database.
Japanese Literature in Translation Search
Search for Japanese literary works translated into other languages, mostly after World War II.
Nippon.com: Your Doorway to Japan
From the publishers of Japan Echo, a web site devoted to feature stories on various Japan-related topics.
H-Japan Discussion Network
A popular email list devoted to Japan, with a searchable archive. "It provides scholars, graduate students and professionals a free daily forum to discuss Japanese history, culture, religion, and society, including contemporary political, diplomatic, security, and economic issues."
Japan-U.S. Discussion Forum
A popular email list. It "is an online community for discussion, analysis, and information on issues concerning contemporary U.S.-Japan relations, Japanese politics, economics, security, and social issues."
Academic Technologies & Seminaries Librarian
Subjects:Ancient & Classical Studies
, Comparative Languages & Linguistics (CLL)
, ELL - English Language Learning
, Film Studies
, French & Francophone Studies
, German & German Studies
, Human Development & Social Relations
, International Studies
, Jewish Studies
, Peace & Global Studies
, Spanish & Hispanic Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095