Skip to Main Content

ES2: Technology and Its Influence (Safia): Home

Reference sources

Credo Reference
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Pulls articles from a wide range of encyclopedias and dictionaries written by subject experts.
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
Points of View Reference Source
Provides overviews of hotly-debated issues, including information on supporting and opposing viewpoints for each.
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

ProCon.org
Founded as a nonprofit to present pros and cons of debatable issues. Aims to be nonpartisan.

Databases

Academic Search Complete
Scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area. A great starting point for any topic.
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
JSTOR
Scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources in a wide variety of disciplines.
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Earlham Libraries Catalog & Beyond
Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.
Newspaper Source Plus
News articles from U.S. and international newspapers, and TV and radio transcripts.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 20 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc.

Librarian

she/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Lilly Library
Room 218
Request a Research Appointment

Subjects: Accounting, Ancient & Classical Studies, Business, Comparative Languages & Linguistics (CLL), French & Francophone Studies, International Studies, Japanese Studies, Politics, Public Policy, Social Services, Spanish & Hispanic Studies

Instructional Technologies Director & Seminaries Librarian (on sabbatical Spring 2025)

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Lilly Library
Room 215

On sabbatical Spring 2025

765-983-1290

Subjects: ELL - English Language Learning, English, ESR-Bethany, Film Studies, German & German Studies, Human Development & Social Relations, Jewish Studies, Media and Communications, Peace & Global Studies, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Seminaries, Sociology/Anthropology

Last Updated: Mar 28, 2025 1:45 PM
URL: https://library.earlham.edu/ES2TechInfluence
Print Page

Subjects: 2024 Spring Semester, 2025 Spring Semester, Earlham Seminar 2

Tags: 2023, 2023 Spring Courses, 2024, 2025

Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095