Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image
ESR & Bethany Resources
Science & Technology Commons
Friends Collection & College Archives
Facilities & Services
Hours
Library Home

Quakers in the Middle East: Small Collections

Introduction

SC, or Small Collections, are collections that are usually only one item to one folder in size. Small collections include diaries, letters, commonplace books, account books, notebooks, and autograph books. A member of the Archives' staff will be happy to assist you if you wish to study one or more of these collections.

Small Collections

SC 147: Nancy Parker McDowell Papers

Nancy Parker McDowell is the wife of James McDowell, professor of psychology at Earlham from 1951 to 1980. The collection consists of copies of letters written while she was teaching at the Friends School at Ramallah, Palestine, 1939-1940, and poems written for Earlham events from the 1950s to to the 1980s.

SC 238: Sara E. Hadley Letters, 1945-1947

Sara E. Hadley (1918-1995), a Kansas Friend, was a teacher in the Friends School at Ramallah, Palestine, in 1946-1947. These letters to her family include unusually detailed accounts of life in Palestine in the last days of the British Mandate. Hadley comments on Quaker affairs, local customs, politics, and terrorism.

Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095