Earlham Libraries Home: ES1: Science and Pseudoscience: Find Articles

Databases - General in Scope

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area. A great starting point for any topic.
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Yearly summaries of current research in the field for natural and social sciences.
Full text of annual summaries of scholarship in over three dozen academic disciplines up through 2023.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources in a wide variety of disciplines.
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
General Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the sciences, including astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, math, medicine, and physics.
Indexes periodicals on astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, math, medicine, and physics, 1983 to present. Earlham subscribes to almost all of the content, either as online full text or as print.

Databases - Discipline specific

American Chemical Society (ACS) Journal Archives This link opens in a new window
Journal articles about chemistry.
Full text of articles published in American Chemical Society Journals, 1879 to present.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
Scholarly scientific journal articles, particularly in the areas of vertebrate and invertebrate biology, ecology, and the environment.
Full text of over 50 journals from scholarly science societies: with an emphasis on vertebrate and invertebrate biology, ecology, and the environment. Coverage from 2000 to the present.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles related to environmental issues. Limited full text.
Indexes and abstracts periodicals dealing with environmental topics, with limited full text. Coverage varies widely by individual periodical title.
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Earth science journal articles and books.
Full text of over 30 journals in the geosciences dating back to the mid-1970s for most journals.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles on medical disciplines; particularly strong in the areas of nursing and allied health fields.
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health fields is particularly strong.
PsycINFO (remember to add APA PsycArticles) This link opens in a new window
Index for journal articles about psychology.
Indexes and abstracts the international literature of psychology, 1887 to present.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Medical journals covering nursing, health care systems, pre-clinical sciences, dentistry, and veterinary medicine.
Authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences, plus full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free-to-access scholarship on biomedical and life sciences from the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Find an article using Google Scholar

Do you already know what you're looking for? Try searching Google Scholar for the title of the article.

Google Scholar
Add Earlham College under "Library Links" (within Settings) to access content within library database subscriptions. Google Scholar can also be used for citation searching - look for the "Cited By" link beneath the description of the article/item.

PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free-to-access scholarship on biomedical and life sciences from the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

ALL databases

A-Z List of Databases
An A-Z list of all the Earlham Libraries databases.

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

InterLibrary Loan (ILL) Main link