Skip to Main Content
ESR & Bethany Resources
Science & Technology Commons
Friends Collection & College Archives
Facilities & Services
Earlham Libraries Catalog & Beyond This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.
Strategies for Career Launch
The Start-Up of You by Reid Hoffman; Ben Casnocha
A blueprint for thriving in your job and building a career by applying the lessons of Silicon Valley's most innovative entrepreneurs. LinkedIn cofounder and chairman Reid Hoffman and author Ben Casnocha show how to accelerate your career in today's competitive world. The key is to manage your career as if it were a start-up business: a living, breathing, growing start-up of you. Why? Start-ups--and the entrepreneurs who run them--are nimble. They invest in themselves. They build their professional networks. They take intelligent risks. They make uncertainty and volatility work to their advantage. These are the very same skills professionals need to get ahead today. This book isn't about cover letters or resumes. Instead, you will learn the best practices of Silicon Valley start-ups, and how to apply these entrepreneurial strategies to your career. Whether you work for a giant multinational corporation, a small local business, or launching your own venture, you need to know how to: * Adapt your career plans as you change, the people around you change, and industries change. * Develop a competitive advantage to win the best jobs and opportunities. * Strengthen your professional network by building powerful alliances and maintaining a diverse mix of relationships. * Find the unique breakout opportunities that massively accelerate career growth. * Take proactive risks to become more resilient to industry tsunamis. * Tap your network for information and intelligence that help you make smarter decisions. A revolutionary new guide to thriving in today's fractured world of work, the strategies in this book will help you survive and thrive and achieve your boldest professional ambitions. The Start-Up of You empowers you to become the CEO of your career and take control of your future.
Publication Date: 2012
Your Network Is Your Net Worth by Porter Gale; Guy Kawasaki (Foreword by)
An internationally known public speaker, entrepreneur, and marketing executive shares practical, up-to-date tips for mastering the skills of networking. Networking doesn't have to be that frenzied old-school game of calendars packed with stuffy power lunches and sterile evenings at community business gatherings. We've entered a new era, one in which shifting cultural values and the explosion of digital technology enable us to network in vastly more efficient, more focused, and more enjoyable ways. A fresh take on How to Win Friends and Influence People, Your Network Is Your Net Worth is an entertaining, straightforward guide filled with revealing case studies, hands-on advice, and innovative strategies for building your network. Written by sought-after speaker, entrepreneur, and marketing executive Porter Gale, with a foreword by Apple evangelist and bestselling author Guy Kawasaki, this book shows you how to establish, expand, and nurture your connections both online and off. New ways to network are popping up every day--and Gale tells you how to make the most of them--but even traditional networking opportunities are not the same animals that they once were, and we need to shift our attitudes and approaches accordingly. Networking has evolved from a transactional game to a transformational process. Whereas once it was about power plays, now it's about charting your own course, following your passions, and making meaningful connections, which in turn increase your happiness and productivity. In addition to chronicling her own rise from an ad agency intern to an in-demand consultant, Gale also shares the inspiring stories of so many others who live by this networking model: a military wife who connects with social media communities while her husband is deployed overseas, a young woman blog-ger battling leukemia, a dyslexic politician who wins elections by telling stories, and the CEO of a Major League Baseball team who once made a phone call that changed the course of his life. When you focus on your passions and reorganize your networking around your values and beliefs, you will discover the kind of lasting relationships, personal transformation, and, ultimately, tangible wealth that are the foundation for happiness and success. With a message both timely and important, Your Network Is Your Net Worth is the definitive handbook to Networking 2.0.
Publication Date: 2013
Highly Effective Networking: Meet the right people and get a great job by Orville Pierson
Virtually all hob hunting experts agree that networking is the best way to find a great job. But most people don't have connections to the decision makers who do the hiring. Orville Pierson, a top expert in job hunting, tells you how to succeed by effectively using your current circle of contacts. He cuts through the myths and misunderstanding to shouw you how millions of job hunters have networked their way to great new jobs. Highly Effective Networking empowers you to: Use a small network to reach dozens of insiders and decision makers; get the right message to the right people; create a project plan to organize your networking efforts; speak effectively and comfortably with our networking contacts; and talk to decision makers before the job opening is announced.
Publication Date: 2009
Selected Major Newspapers
New York Times (Historical Newspaper Archive) This link opens in a new window
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1851 up to the past three years and includes the New York Times Book Review and the New York Times Magazine.
A Guide to Academia by Prosanta Chakrabarty
A Guide to Academia is a handbook for all those individuals thinking seriously about going to graduate school. Written by an author with extensive experience navigating the academic world, the book explains all the steps and potential bumps in the road that a student might encounter as they take the plunge into academia. Each chapter begins with a section called the "hard truth," which will help students determine if they are on the right path. Starting with an undergraduate student looking for a graduate school, the reader is taken on a journey up the academic ladder through graduate studies, a postdoctoral fellowship and an assistant professorship. Each chapter gives advice on not only how to survive the current stage but how to get to the next stage quickly. Enhanced with material from the author's own job applications and interview presentations, A Guide to Academia provides concrete examples of the tools needed for a successful career in academia.
Publication Date: 2012
So You Want to Go to Graduate School by Atlantic Publishing Group
Trying to score well on the GRE is hard enough, let alone choosing the schools you want to apply to. You are part of about 17 percent of college students that have decided to go on to grad school âe" you want to make sure you get through all the stages of acceptance. Whether you are applying to graduate school to prepare for a profession, to get a specific job, to potentially earn more, or simply for personal achievement, this book will explain exactly what you need to know in simple, easy-to-understand terms. You will learn how to fill out the application form, how to write your personal statement, and how to conduct an effective on-site visit. You will learn tips and tricks to help you pass the GRE as well as practice tests to help you allocate your time well. Case studies from both students and professors fill this book. You will learn how to get the best letters of recommendation from your favorite professors as well as how to handle financial aid situations. By bookâe(tm)s end, you will have increased your chances of receiving that crisp, white letter of acceptance, which puts you one step closer to achieving your academic goals.
Publication Date: 2017
Is Graduate School Really for You? by Amanda I. Seligman
Landing a job in today's academic job market is no easy feat. Is graduate school the answer? This informed and candid book provides anyone thinking about pursuing an advanced degree-and those who support them-with the inside scoop on what to expect in graduate school. Amanda I. Seligman helps potential students navigate graduate study-not just how to get in but how to succeed once you are there and what to expect when you leave. She weighs the pros and cons of attending graduate school against achieving a sustainable work-life balance and explains the application process, the culture of graduate school, and employment prospects for academics. This book guides readers through the ins and outs of graduate school, and no topic is off limits, including - qualifications and admission guidelines- financial aid and graduate stipends- meeting expectations and residency requirements- coursework, theses, and dissertations- degrees, jobs, and academic careers- tenure, research, and peer review- social life (will you still have one?) Written in a question-and-answer format, Is Graduate School Really for You? eliminates the guesswork. Whether you are considering applying to graduate school, already enrolled, or would simply like to know more about continuing your education, this is the book for you.
Publication Date: 2012
Graduate Programs in the Physical Sciences, Mathematics, Agricultural Sciences, the Environment, and Natural Resources 2014 (Grad 4) by Peterson's
Peterson's Graduate Programs in the Physical Sciences, Mathematics, Agricultural Sciences, the Environment & Natural Resources 2014 contains comprehensive profiles of more than 3,000 graduate programs in disciplines such as, agricultural & food science, astronomy & astrophysics, chemistry, environmental sciences & management, geosciences, marine sciences & oceanography, meteorology & atmospheric sciences, mathematical sciences, natural resources, and physics Up-to-date data, collected through Peterson's Annual Survey of Graduate and Professional Institutions, provides valuable information on degree offerings, professional accreditation, jointly offered degrees, part-time and evening/weekend programs, post-baccalaureate distance degrees, faculty, students, requirements, expenses, financial support, faculty research, and unit head and application contact information. Two-page in-depth descriptions provide information about specific graduate programs, schools, or departments, faculty members and their research, and more. There are also valuable articles on financial assistance, the graduate admissions process, advice for international and minority students, and facts about accreditation, with a current list of accrediting agencies.
Publication Date: 2013
Educating Scholars: Doctoral education in the humanities by Ronald G. Ehrenberg et al.
Despite the worldwide prestige of America's doctoral programs in the humanities, all is not well in this area of higher education and hasn't been for some time. The content of graduate programs has undergone major changes, while high rates of student attrition, long times to degree, and financial burdens prevail. In response, the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation in 1991 launched the Graduate Education Initiative (GEI), the largest effort ever undertaken to improve doctoral programs in the humanities and related social sciences. The only book to focus exclusively on the current state of doctoral education in the humanities, Educating Scholars reports on the GEI's success in reducing attrition and times to degree, the positive changes implemented by specific graduate programs, and the many challenges still to be addressed. Over a ten-year period, the Foundation devoted almost eighty-five million dollars through the GEI to provide support for doctoral programs and student aid in fifty-four departments at ten leading universities. The authors examine data that tracked the students in these departments and in control departments, as well as information gathered from a retrospective survey of students. They reveal that completion and attrition rates depend upon financial support, the quality of advising, clarity of program requirements, and each department's expectations regarding the dissertation. The authors consider who earns doctoral degrees, what affects students' chances of finishing their programs, and how successful they are at finding academic jobs. Answering some of the most important questions being raised about American doctoral programs today, Educating Scholars will interest all those concerned about our nation's intellectual future.
Publication Date: 2009
Getting a Ph. D. in Economics by Stuart J. Hillmon
Considering a graduate degree in economics? Good choice: the twenty-first-century financial crisis and recession have underscored the relevance of experts who know how the economy works, should work, and could work. However, Ph.D. programs in economics are extremely competitive, with a high rate of attrition and a median time of seven years to completion. Also, economic professions come in many shapes and sizes, and while a doctoral degree is crucial training for some, it is less beneficial for others. How do you know whether a Ph.D. in economics is for you? How do you choose the right program--and how do you get the right program to choose you? And once you've survived years of rigorous and specialized training, how do you turn your degree into a lifelong career and meaningful vocation? Getting a Ph.D. in Economics is the first manual designed to meet the specific needs of aspiring and matriculating graduate students of economics. With the perspective of a veteran, Stuart J. Hillmon walks the reader though the entire experience--from the Ph.D. admissions process to arduous first-year coursework and qualifying exams to armoring up for the volatile job market. Hillmon identifies the pitfalls at each stage and offers no-holds-barred advice on how to navigate them. Honest, hard-hitting, and at times hilarious, this insider insight will equip students and prospective students with the tools to make the most of their graduate experience and to give them an edge in an increasingly competitive field.
Publication Date: 2014
MBA Admissions Strategy: From profile building to essay writing by Avi Gordon
"Avi Gordon has achieved what most MBA admissions books strive for. In concise and clear prose he unravels the complexities of getting into a top business school... This second edition covers everything from GMAT preparation to knowing the needs of admissions committees better than they do while constantly asking the candidate to continually evaluate him or herself ... An essential new addition to the MB applicant's bookshelf." Ross Geraghty, Managing Editor, Top MBA "MBA Admissions Strategy is a no-nonsense, streamlined book that will be especially helpful to applicants of top 20 business schools. Gordon does a great job of thoroughly covering all topics of the MBA application process ... His advice is smart, savvy and written with a hands-on approach to successfully guide an applicant through their application process." Leila Pirnia, Founder, MBA Podcaster "Avi Gordon's newly revised guide to MBA admissions strategy is like a golden ticket for aspiring MBAs. The guide not only addresses the latest trends in MBA applications, it also provides can't-miss tips for students seeking admission to the most competitive business programs." Karen Schweitzer, the About.com Guide to Business School MBA Admissions Strategy is a bestseller that shows MBA applicants: What Admissions Committees value and how they work What to say in a b-school application, and how to say it well How to turn a good application into a great application It guides the reader through the four key aspects of competitive MBA admissions; navigating the admissions process; enhancing profile value; managing essay and interview communications; and writing better. The second edition updates and enhances all chapters, and contains new material on success in MBA admissions interviews.
Publication Date: 2010
Your Graduate Training in Psychology by Carolyn A. Licht, Peter J. Giordano & Stephen F. Davis
Each year thousands of students are accepted into graduate training programs in psychology. After the excitement of this initial acceptance, however, these students are typically faced with a number of questions and concerns. How will graduate school differ from my undergraduate training? How can I develop all the new skills I will need to be successful in graduate school? What are comprehensive exams and how do I prepare for them? This book answers these questions and many more that students face after they enroll in graduate school. A carefully selected cadre of authors, all authorities in their respective areas, offer effective strategies and advice that directly address the major issues confronting graduate students, both masters and doctoral level, during their graduate training in psychology. The breadth of the chapters make this volume relevant to a correspondingly large and diverse array of graduate students and their advisors, including those in applied (e.g., clinical, counseling, school) and nonapplied areas. Organized by three developmental phases in a student's graduate career, Part I deals with issues related to Settling In to life as a graduate student. The next phase, Developing and Maturing, is the theme of Part II. Part III is organized around issues of Winding Down and Gearing Up (all at the same time), that time in graduate training when students are finishing up important requirements such as the dissertation and beginning to move toward their career after graduate school.
Publication Date: 2011
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095