Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books and Media
Earlham Libraries Catalog & Beyond This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.
Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete texts of almost 300 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Wiley Blackwell Publishing in the Wiley Blackwell Reference Online collection. Also contains description-only citations of over 21,000 other online books, journals and articles.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
Oxford Dictionary of Business and Management by This wide-ranging and authoritative dictionary contains 7,000 entries covering all areas of business and management, including marketing, organizational behavior, business strategy, and taxation. It contains American business terms, general management concepts (competence, knowledge management), named theories (Tannenbaum and Schmidt, Blake and Mouton) as well as expanded coverage of the contemporary theory of the firm and human resources. New terms are included from the fast-moving areas of current affairs (MiFID), Internet business, and information technology.
Publication Date: 2016
Oxford Dictionary of Human Resource Management by The authoritative source of precise and easy to understand definitions of words, terms, and phrases that are used in the fields of Human Resource Management, Personnel, and Industrial Relations, this new edition of the Dictionary of Human Resource Management has been thoroughly revised andupdated to reflect changes in vocabulary and usage.All the previous editions' entries have been reviewed, around 300 new entries have been added, and the existing entries thoroughly edited to reflect changes in the usage of terms, changes in institutions and official bodies, and keeps pace with the evolving HRM vocabulary. With over 1,400 entries,this new edition of the Dictionary features:* The latest terms and management buzzwords* Key theoretical terms and concepts from academics and consultants* Technical terms used by practising personnel/HR managers and trade unionists* Major policies, practices, and institutions* Jargon from the present and the past* Legal terms* Thematic categorization of the main concepts* Cross-referencing of entriesThe second edition of the Dictionary of Human Resource Management is a vital companion for students and practitioners in HRM, Personnel, and Industrial Relations.
Publication Date: 2008
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095